cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
motoroller
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-24-2014
Location: Russia
Views: 6,386
Message 1 of 31

Problem 5GHz wifi with Yoga 3

Hi everybody,

 

I bought the new Yoga 3 Pro with the Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter and have problems with the WLAN.

I have router Asus  RT-AC68U with two networks 2.4 and 5 Mhz.

 

All other devices has connection to both of them, but Yoga 3 can connect only to 2.4 Mhz and i have max spped connection 144 MB/s.

 

Is it possible to fix it?

I have tried to change settings on router and yoga but with no success.

 

Do you have any ideas?

 

Maybe is bloked in register? (i know is sometimes happed depend of region)

 

Moderator edit: Added 5GHz to subject

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,667
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 6,310
Message 2 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

Hi,

 

You don't say where you are located so it's going to be hard for anyone to make a specific comment about region issues.

 

I can say that I have exactly the same configuration.  My Y3P connected to my 5GHz network @ 700+ mpbs without changing any settings.

 

Does the laptop see the 5GHz network?

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

motoroller
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-24-2014
Location: Russia
Views: 6,299
Message 3 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

Region is Russia.

My Yoga cant see any 5 Mhz networks, but other devices are ok.

motoroller
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-24-2014
Location: Russia
Views: 6,206
Message 4 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

I have changed yoga 3 two times with same result.

It`s very strange situation, tried another notebook by Acer is ok.

Yoga 3 is very cool but i can`t use it because it isn’t support 5Mhz in Russia it`s big disappointment.

Support in Russian region can`t help me to solve.

 

 

silentsolution
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2015
Location: Kiev
Views: 6,058
Message 5 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

I have the same issues - bought my Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro in Kiev / Ukraine - can not find any 5ghz networks.
Changed my region to US and the language to EN-US didn't help.
Mischa213
802.11n
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎11-12-2014
Location: Netherlands
Views: 6,038
Message 6 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

It might be that Lenovo supplies different (firmware) versions of the Broadcom WLAN card for several regions.

like they did not supply dua band (5GHz) cards for the Yoga 2 13 and Yoga2Pro.

 

Or they provide different software/drivers, or a setting in the software ....

 

 

Please compare the specific hardware ID's for the 5GHz compatible versions of the Yoga3Pro to yours to see if swapping the card or drivers could be a solution.

 

Please provide your hardware ID:

  • Go to   Device Manager (right cick on the Windows menu button)
  • Double click on   Network Adaptors
  • Double click on your card (Broadcom XXXX)
  • Go to the tab   Details
  • Select the property    Hardware Ids

Copy this string to a post:

PCI\VEN_XXXX&DEV_XXXX&SUBSYS_XXXXXXXX

And hope other Yoga3Pro users will do the same,

so we can investigate and solve this.

 

So please post:

  • BIOS version of your Yoga3Pro
  • Name of the WLAN/Bt combo card in the   Device Manager
  • VEN_ 
  • DEV_
  • SUBSYS_

And maybe some settings in the Advanced tab like VHT mode ...

 

 

Below is a sample screen shot of my WLAN card (a Intel 7260AC):

Device Manager Properties Details HardwareID 7260AC 2.jpg

Freedom of Speech has just left the building
cbautis2
Bit Torrent
Posts: 958
Registered: ‎01-27-2013
Location: United States
Views: 6,026
Message 7 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

you need the Russian version of the card and drivers just like there's a russian version of Intel 6250 WiFi card.

Lenovo Y470: i7-2670QM | 8 GB DDR3 1333 MHz RAM | Nvidia GeForce GT 550M | 500 GB 7200 RPM Seagate HDD | ASUS PCE-AC56 802.11ac Network Adapter | Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
bstaeuble
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-04-2015
Location: Zurich
Views: 5,982
Message 8 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

could you help me as well, facing the same problem with 5ghz in Switzerland
 
BIOS version of Yoga3Pro
BIOS Version/Date LENOVO A6CN38WW, 30.09.2014
 
Name of the WLAN/Bt combo card 
Broadcom 802.11ac Network Adapter
 
Hardware ID
PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_43B1&SUBSYS_062317AA&REV_03
noidnopassport
Punch Card
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-27-2015
Location: Hungary
Views: 5,947
Message 9 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_43B1&SUBSYS_062317AA&REV_03

 

same broadcom in hungary not working...

noidnopassport
Punch Card
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎01-27-2015
Location: Hungary
Views: 5,923
Message 10 of 31

Re: Problem wifi with Yoga 3

strange

Holiday Deals
HAPPENING NOW!

Get the best deals on PCs and tech now during the Holiday Sale
Shop the sale

Top Kudoed Authors