cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Luitnoi
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-12-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,571
Message 1 of 10

Upgrading ram in yoga 500

I am looking to upgrade my Yoga 500-14IBD to 8 GB RAM. Can you please tell me what are the main specifications I should look for when I buy ram. I see one with the following specs; please tell me if they are ok: 8GB PC3L 1600 MHz, 204 pin.

Here is the link 8 GB ram

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 4,566
Message 2 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

Hi Luitnoi

 

Welcome to the Community Forums.

 

As per general  RAM specification from the hardware manual:

1,600 MHz SODIMM × 1 (max 8 GB)

 

Similar to the recommend M471B1G73EB0-YK0 Samsung:

8GB 2Rx8 1G x 64-Bit PC3L-12800 CL11 204-Pin SODIMM specifications

 

Yoga 500 AKA Flex 3-1470

8GB max / PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3L, one 204-pin SO-DIMM socket

 

OEM recommended RAM here on page 85 item 9 of the manual. 

 

In purchasing from other resellers like Crucial or Amazon, best to also check the return option although as long as the specifications are the same, it is not often that it won't work. Low voltage compatibility is highly recommended 1.35V as your suggested part also does. 

 

Hope this help answer your query.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Luitnoi
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-12-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,561
Message 3 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

I already had the generic information from the manual. I wanted you to confirm from the link I included if the product that is advertized is indeed the one.

Sr Support Specialist
Posts: 9,462
Registered: ‎11-30-2015
Location: PH
Views: 4,552
Message 4 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

Hi Luitnoi

 

Checking on the specification in your pick with Kingston 8GB RAM as per detail specs:

KVR16LS11/8 8GB 2Rx8 1G x 64-Bit PC3L-12800 CL11 204-Pin SODIMM

 

"1G x 64-bit (8GB) DDR3L-1600 CL11 SDRAM (Synchronous DRAM), 2Rx8, low voltage, memory module, based on sixteen 512M x 8-bit FBGA components. The SPD is programmed to JEDEC standard latency DDR3-1600 timing of 11-11-11 at 1.35V or 1.5V

 

This does show same specifications requirements of the Yoga 500 14 that this should work.

I was trying to get a verified upgrade case similar to this and this in our community forums but no specific claim for a Kingston brand yet so always have the return option handy just in case.

 

Technically, those mention on the hardware manual FRU list is those that have been tested and certified to work.

 

Regards



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 4,529
Message 5 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

Please note Spidey101 review of your memory shows dual voltage.

Kingston ram is known for failure.

Luitnoi
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-12-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,526
Message 6 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

So would you recommend Crucial or Samsung?

Luitnoi
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-12-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,524
Message 7 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

Thank you for the information.

sclexman
Bit Torrent
Posts: 4,580
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: US
Views: 4,464
Message 8 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

I should have stated Kingston Value ram causes issues.

I use Crucial.

Whatever you choose, money back guarantee is required as noted by Spidey101.  

Yes Crucial also offers dual voltage memory. Try to select a stick which matches your machines memory voltage, which is 1.35V and a NON dual voltage stick, if possible.

 

Beep Beep at boot up time? Where is the return depot(place of purchase}?

Up the street, a country aways, etc?  

Luitnoi
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-12-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,451
Message 9 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

Ok, thanks.

DandLor
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-18-2017
Location: IT
Views: 4,131
Message 10 of 10

Re: Upgrading ram in yoga 500

I sclexman.

I’m also looking for 8GB RAM for the Yoga 500-14IBD of my son. Unfortunately I’m not that expert in HW.

Try to understand a little this thread, I found these two options by Crucial:

 

http://it.crucial.com/ita/it/aggiornamento-compatibile-per/Lenovo/yoga-500-14ibd

 

My first question is: the different speed between the two models is realy appreciable or the 1866 is just a waste of extra money?

 

Than ... I found a couple of cheaper potential options:

 

A) Patriot Signature Line PSD38G16002S

https://www.amazon.it/dp/B007M538DW/ref=asc_df_B007M538DW47760835/?tag=trovaprezzi-mp-ce-prime-21&cr...

 

B) Timetec Hynix IC 8GB DDR3L 1600MHz PC3-12800 Unbuffered Non-ECC 1.35V CL11 2Rx8 Dual Rank 204 Pin SODIMMA) Patriot Signature Line PSD38G16002S

https://www.amazon.it/dp/B0145WDNI4/ref=asc_df_B0145WDNI447692943/?tag=trovaprezzi-mp-ce-prime-21&cr...

 

Are those two compatible with my Yoga? If I understood a little of the discussion, the right voltage must be 1,35, right? If this is the case, option A) should not be ok.

 

Thanks a lot in advance.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors