Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

39 Posts

05-02-2014

Wisconsin

44 Signins

464 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2014
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Views: 464
  • Message 1 of 3

Y2 13 - How would I upgrade to an M2 SSD from a Hybrid Drive?

2014-05-09, 17:52 PM

G'day,

I'm interested in adding an M2 drive to my Y2 13 but am wondering how to make it my master drive.   The problem that I'm seeing is that the current Hybrid drive has a total of 6 partiions on it.  I assume that at least one of them is associated with the SSD portion of the Hybrid. It is laid out as shown here:

Screenshot 2014-05-09 12.37.18.png

 

Would I need to clone all of these partitions and than make it the master in the Bios or can soemone recommend and procedure?

 

THanks,

Ski

Reply
Options

1464 Posts

06-08-2013

Spain

2008 Signins

20098 Page Views

  • Posts: 1464
  • Registered: ‎06-08-2013
  • Location: Spain
  • Views: 20098
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Y2 13 - How would I upgrade to an M2 SSD from a Hybrid Drive?

2014-05-10, 12:31 PM
You need to clone your hard drive to your new SSD:
- http://lifehacker.com/5837543/how-to-migrate-to-a-solid-state-drive-without-reinstalling-windows
- http://www.pcworld.com/article/2098426/move-from-a-hard-drive-to-an-ssd.html

Kind regards,

Jonas Hendrickx

Lenovo Insider, Windows Insider MVP

 

Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Looking to buy a Lenovo machine? Find your country

Belgium | Canada | Finland | France | Germany | Netherlands | Sweden | U.K. | U.S.A.

Reply
Options

39 Posts

05-02-2014

Wisconsin

44 Signins

464 Page Views

  • Posts: 39
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2014
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Views: 464
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Y2 13 - How would I upgrade to an M2 SSD from a Hybrid Drive?

2014-05-10, 13:23 PM
But I'm not sure if I would need to clone all 6 partitions or if I could get by with cloning the C: and Recovery partitions only.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms