12-18-2013

Michigan, USA

20 Signins

55 Page Views

• Views: 55
  • Message 1 of 5

Y2P Frustrated and Disappointed

2013-12-18, 19:20 PM

I have been researching a new ultrabook for the past several months, and I have come close to going with the Y2P. But a number of issues that I have been reading here have prevented me from making the purchase:

1. The problems with the screen colors, and continuing problems even after the Bios update. This makes me doubtful about Lenovo's QA process.

2. The wifi card is already outdated; why in the world would Lenovo not use a dual band AC card? And there seems to have been all kinds of problems with the WiFi. I've read about replacing the card, but why shouldn't Lenovo make this available to customers who don't want to buy something already obsolescent?

3. Battery life is reported to be poor, and nowhere near what Lenovo claims it to be. There seems to be some kind of complicated fix for this as well, messing with voltages, but again, what a huge pain!

4. When I went to possibly purchase a unit today, despite my increasing misgivings, there were no models available with 8 gigs of ram. Someone on the chat window was exceptionally unhelpful in this regard, and was speaking to me from somewhere on the other side of the planet with broken English. I wonder if or when there might be a possible upgrade to the Y2P that might be a bit more attractive. I was ready to buy the i7, 8 gigs Ram, with as large a ssd as I could find, but no availability = no sale. I'm quite disappointed in Lenovo; the Yoga is a great design, but there seems to be serious lack of attention to what users want.

Solved! See the solution
Options

238 Posts

11-09-2013

Charlotte, NC

339 Signins

2304 Page Views

• Views: 2304
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Y2P Frustrated and Disappointed

2013-12-18, 21:48 PM