cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
pompamtoday
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-06-2015
Location: Thailand
Views: 7,310
Message 1 of 10

YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

I just have bought a new Lenovo YOGA 3 PRO notebook, and it is not default F1-F12

 

I read Lenovo YOGA 3 Pro-1370 Hardware Maintenance Manual

Page 29 :

Note: If you changed the HotKey Mode from Disabled to Enabled in the BIOS setup utility, there is
no need to press the Fn key. Only press the appropriate hotkey.

 

I've downloaded lastest BIOS version a6cn47ww and don't have HotKey Mode

 

Then, how can I change Fn function to get my F1-F12 buttons?

ayhamalhindi
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-06-2015
Location: jo
Views: 6,969
Message 2 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

I have this question too
Joshue
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-07-2015
Location: Ireland
Views: 6,849
Message 3 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

Lenovo - please answer this question, and provide clear simple instructions for all users. Or else I'll never buy your machines again.

Guru
Posts: 3,441
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Location: MX
Views: 6,832
Message 4 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

I have a Y3P, let me take a look after work.

 

I havent been using the F1-F12 keys a lot, so never thought much about it.

---------------------------------
Current System - Lenovo Y720
Y720 REVIEW - Youtube Link (Opens in New Tab)
If your experience was good today, please feel free to give KUDOS. It Ain't Over, 'til it's over.
Guru
Posts: 3,441
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Location: MX
Views: 6,830
Message 5 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

ok, from the manual I found something -

 

"Change the HotKey Mode from Disabled to Enabled in the BIOS setup utility, there is no need to press the Fn key. Only press the appropriate hotkey."

 

You will have to go into BIOS.

 

How can I start the BIOS setup utility?

To start the BIOS setup utility:

1 Shut down the computer.

2 Press the Novo button and then select BIOS Setup

 

Let me know if your problem gets solved. Also, remember you wont be able to press 1-0 and - and = buttons directly anymore.

 

EDIT - Just saw that the OP already knows this. Maybe this wont fix it. Will try later.

---------------------------------
Current System - Lenovo Y720
Y720 REVIEW - Youtube Link (Opens in New Tab)
If your experience was good today, please feel free to give KUDOS. It Ain't Over, 'til it's over.
mirmahdi
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-17-2015
Location: United States
Views: 6,659
Message 6 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

Well, this is simple.

The problem is that after the latest BIOS update (May 2015), there is no such option in the BIOS anymore.

In fact, many of the options i the BIOS are no longer there and I wonder how I will be able to set them with this new BIOS. Among those options disappeared from the BIOS, is also the hotkeys control.

The idea of leaving that amount of useless space on top of the keyboard and omitting another row of keys in the keyboard in Lenovo 3 is stupid, because it had combined many frequent keys and those which most come in combinations already. Now I have to just add Fn key to a combination of two or three other keys which is rediculus (e.g. Ctrl+Shift+Home/End in MS Word for quickly selecting a paragraph of text...), but if a part of that stupidity can be reversed, it worth is.

 

Now again, there is no such "Hotkeys Enable/Disable" option in the new version of BIOS released by Lenovo. Now what? How can I use Function keys without the hotkeys?

argueguy
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-17-2015
Location: Victoria
Views: 5,751
Message 7 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

I have the exact same issue. Any change on this one?

usmcpa
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,756
Message 8 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

Did you ever figure-out this issue?  I am having the same problem with my yoga 900.

Highlighted
stephenspann27
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-16-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,540
Message 9 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

Press function first, and esc second that that will lock the function key.

stephenspann27
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-16-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,540
Message 10 of 10

Re: YOGA 3 PRO : How to enable F1-F12 keys without Fn ?

I have a yoga 14. Press "Fn" then "Esc" and you will see the light come on on the FN key. 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors