Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

10-24-2013

Gabon

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: Gabon
  • Views: 106
  • Message 1 of 9

Yoga 2 Pro WiFi not seeing 2.4Ghz network with Cisco/Linksys router

2013-10-24, 22:11 PM

I am having issue with the Yoga 2 seeing my 2.4Ghz network  I using a new Cisco/Linksys AC router.  Is anyone else having this issue?  It dont show up in the Windows network area to connect.  No problems with other wireless devices in the house.

 

I downloaded the latest driver from the Lenovo site- no help

 

Thanks in advance -Jim

Reply
Answer
Options

23 Posts

10-24-2013

USA

46 Signins

194 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 194

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-25, 7:55 AM

Did you power cycle the router? I've had to do that with outside routers before. Even had to do it on my home router when I was prepping my iPad for selling.

Reply

Replies(8)
Options

145 Posts

10-21-2013

Illinois, USA

288 Signins

2542 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2013
  • Location: Illinois, USA
  • Views: 2542
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-24, 22:21 PM

Any chance you're in "Airplane mode"? Do you see any wireless networks?

 

Z.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

10-24-2013

Gabon

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: Gabon
  • Views: 106
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-24, 22:50 PM
well that's a good thought but no I'm not an airplane mode I see other networks just not mine.
Reply
Options

145 Posts

10-21-2013

Illinois, USA

288 Signins

2542 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2013
  • Location: Illinois, USA
  • Views: 2542
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-24, 23:04 PM

The router definitely has b/g/n 2.4GHz enabled? It's not locked in a/ac or something that would be 5GHz only?

 

Is there a "Connect to another network" option that will let you explicitly enter the SSID you want to connect to even if it's not seeing it in the scan for available networks?

 

Z.

Reply
Options

119 Posts

10-23-2013

United States of America

85 Signins

765 Page Views

  • Posts: 119
  • Registered: ‎10-23-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 765
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-24, 23:13 PM

I know you said you updated from Lenovo's site so I'm sure it's the same thing but I updated from within the Windows update app on my Yoga 2 Pro and it fixed my wifi issues.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

10-24-2013

Gabon

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: Gabon
  • Views: 106
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-25, 0:53 AM

Tried both suggestions- router seems to be fine- Two Dell Laptops working via wireless, two Samsung S4 phones, and two iPads....Both bands are enabled on the router, both 2Ghz and 5Ghz (I know the Yoga doesn't support 5).

 

I'm at a loss......

Even typing in the SSID doesn't work.  - what is strange is its picking up several "neighborhood" wireless networks.  I hate to bring it back as it seems to be picking up networks, just not mine.

 

For what its worth the router is a brand new Cisco/Linksys AC1750 (EA6500 HD)

Reply
Answer
Options

23 Posts

10-24-2013

USA

46 Signins

194 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 194
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-25, 7:55 AM

Did you power cycle the router? I've had to do that with outside routers before. Even had to do it on my home router when I was prepping my iPad for selling.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

9 Posts

10-24-2013

Gabon

9 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎10-24-2013
  • Location: Gabon
  • Views: 106
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi

2013-10-25, 13:50 PM

First of all, I want to thank you all for your help and support!! Everyone!  Who would have thought, as suggested, to just power cycle my router.  As soon as I did that, and rebooted the Yoga, it sees the network in my home.  So it appears as though my issue is closed!!  Thanks again!

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-22-2014

Maryland

1 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-22-2014
  • Location: Maryland
  • Views: 10
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: Yoga 2 Pro WiFi not seeing 2.4Ghz network with Cisco/Linksys router

2014-02-22, 1:21 AM

I have found the same issue....I did discover that when i took off he security protection on my network - it worked just fine.  I just installed the updated wifi driver and will try it now.  It works fine on my other networks. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms