Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

11-29-2014

Cranford, NJ

5 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2014
  • Location: Cranford, NJ
  • Views: 58
  • Message 1 of 8

Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-29, 18:51 PM

Apologies for the potential silly question, but.....

Does my Yoga 2 Laptop have a GPS? I am attempting to use Maps, but getting the error message that "Geolocation service failed." Do I have a GPS chipset? Thanks.

Reply
Options

141 Posts

07-14-2014

United Kingdon, Lancashire

1000 Signins

5287 Page Views

  • Posts: 141
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2014
  • Location: United Kingdon, Lancashire
  • Views: 5287
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-29, 22:14 PM

Hi,

as far I know "no"

Lenovo IdeaPad YOGA 2 13; (i3 4010U, 500GB HDD + 512GB M550 M.2 SSD, 4GB ram, Intel HD4400, 1920 x 1080, Clementine)
Lenovo Flex PC Tactile 14; (I(i3 4010U, 500GB HDD + 256GB MyDigitalSSD M.2, 8GB ram, Intel HD4000 Graphics, 1366 x 768, Grey)
Reply
Options

212 Posts

11-12-2014

Netherlands

821 Signins

5975 Page Views

  • Posts: 212
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 5975
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-29, 23:00 PM

wrote:

Do I have a GPS chipset? 


No, for sure the Yoga 2 13 does not.

 

 

You could use location based on wireless network SSID ...

Freedom of Speech has just left the building
Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-29-2014

Cranford, NJ

5 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2014
  • Location: Cranford, NJ
  • Views: 58
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-30, 13:48 PM
Thanks. Not sure what to do. It appears neither my Windows 8.1 OS nor any of the apps are recognizing my Location. I may have some file corruption. Not sure how to fix this. Any more ideas would be helpful. Hate to do this, but might haveto do a factory re-install. Hoping that is not the solution.
Reply
Options

145 Posts

03-11-2012

dc

3733 Signins

7583 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2012
  • Location: dc
  • Views: 7583
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-30, 13:59 PM

Could you check Charms Bar -->Settings --> Change PC Settings --> Privacy-->Location to make sure location is enabled?

Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-29-2014

Cranford, NJ

5 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2014
  • Location: Cranford, NJ
  • Views: 58
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-30, 16:13 PM

Yes, Location is turned on in Privacy Settings. I tried everything at this point. I think something is corrupted. My WiFi should have picked up my location. My Router settings are fine. Should I try a Windows 8.1 re-install?

Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-29-2014

Cranford, NJ

5 Signins

58 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2014
  • Location: Cranford, NJ
  • Views: 58
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-30, 16:15 PM
Hi Mischa213, how do I setup my location, based on my wireless network SSID?
Reply
Options

212 Posts

11-12-2014

Netherlands

821 Signins

5975 Page Views

  • Posts: 212
  • Registered: ‎11-12-2014
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 5975
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Yoga 2 Ultrabook 13 - GPS

2014-11-30, 16:35 PM

I do not use Bing (Nokia) Maps myself on my Yoga.

But I've seen someone using it for route planning, using the SSID as the locator.

Maybe in PC Setting | Location ?

Freedom of Speech has just left the building
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All