Germany

69 Signins

605 Page Views

• Views: 605
  • Message 1 of 4

Yoga 3-14 drops connection, refuses to connect

2015-07-03, 22:16 PM

Hey guys,

I own my new Yog 3-14 for about one month now and it has been pretty awesome so far.
Just lately I noticed my computer losing connection to the router.
Before I go into detail of my "problem" I will describe my situation and what else I noticed this whole time.

My current situation looks like this: As I am a student already having the luxury of living in my own apartment I sadly cannot aford additional costs for my own internet but my neighbor kindly lets me use her network. The router, though, already is a few years old (unfortunately I don't know the exact age but I am guessing it's more than 6 years).

Everything had been pretty good so far but lately I noticed my iPhone often losing connection to said router. When it wouldn't reconnect on its own I would try by myself but selecting the router from the wifi menu often would lead to a connection period of 2seconds and then it would drop again. After doing that for a few times the network then would completely disappear from the list of available networks. Finally after a few minutes it would automatically reconnect itself and work perfectly fine.

The router is placed in the room next to my bedroom, as my neighbor has her office in my floor. So I doubt the connection loss is related to too many walls or a big distance in between.

So far so good. Then I bought my new Yoga 3-14 one month ago and everything had been fine.
Oddly, my iPhone stopped having the problem described above but for about one week now my laptop is acting up instead. Suddenly losing connection (strangely only in the evening between 8pm and 11pm??!! The rest of the day it's totally fine), refusing to reconnect, then suddenly not showing my neighbor's router in the list anymore, and finally reconnecting on its own after about 3~5mins.