Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

11-06-2014

Perth

3 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2014
  • Location: Perth
  • Views: 42
  • Message 1 of 13

Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-06, 14:19 PM

Can a Yoga 3 Pro output 2560 x 1600 via the hdmi out, it seems like the answer is not.

 

So i started to look at port replicators thatll enable me to do so any suggestions.

 

Regards

 

John

Reply
Options

3 Posts

11-06-2014

Perth

3 Signins

42 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2014
  • Location: Perth
  • Views: 42
  • Message 2 of 13

Re: Is there a yoga 3 forum?

2014-11-06, 14:24 PM

Hi Dean,

 

Im having an issue with my Yoga 3 Pro where I want to output to a 2560 x 1600 monitor which im unable to do, i purchased a couple of adapters but the max it seems to output is 1920 x 1080.

 

Im looking at a Port Replicator/Docking station to resolve my issue, its a real shame for an otherwise fantastic device.

 

Regards

 

John

Reply
Options

210 Posts

09-03-2013

Egypt

191 Signins

1822 Page Views

  • Posts: 210
  • Registered: ‎09-03-2013
  • Location: Egypt
  • Views: 1822
  • Message 3 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-06, 14:29 PM

Dear Rapture1980

 

Welcome to Lenovo forums

 

This will depend on the external screen if the screen and the laptop can support this resolution then yes

 

Thanks



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Reply
Options

5580 Posts

04-25-2008

United States of America

39985 Signins

767798 Page Views

  • Posts: 5580
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 767798
  • Message 4 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-06, 14:29 PM
USB-C: Just cos it fits don't mean it works.
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Options

5580 Posts

04-25-2008

United States of America

39985 Signins

767798 Page Views

  • Posts: 5580
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 767798
  • Message 5 of 13

Re: Is there a yoga 3 forum?

2014-11-06, 15:15 PM

Hi Rapture1980, and welcome to the Lenovo User Community!

 

The Lenovo PSREF for the Yoga 3 says "1080p support" on the Micro-HDMI port, and it looks like that's what you're seeing.

 

There's some Yoga 3 port replicator discussion here

 

Hope this helps!

USB-C: Just cos it fits don't mean it works.
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Reply
Options

22 Posts

09-25-2013

Europe

19 Signins

458 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎09-25-2013
  • Location: Europe
  • Views: 458
  • Message 6 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-12, 23:38 PM

I haven't seen port replicator doing 2560x1600 or 2560x1440. If you check that one from Lenovo, you can find maximum resolution 2048x1152.

 

HDMI is NOT capable of such a resolution, as far as I know (check the Wikipedia). Only DisplayPort interface can do it. (True only for older HDMI interfaces. This is not Yoga's case. But this can stll be case of display. It must use HDMI 1.4, too.)

 

I have Dell U3011 (HDMI 1.3) which can achieve 2560×1600 only via DisplayPort or dual-link DVI. I didn't find other solution than purchasing "USB3 to DisplayPort" graphics card. It runs 2560x1600 fine but:

  • image quality is decreased
  • one CPU core is constantly working at about 50% (about 12,5% of total CPU load) because image needs to be continuously compressed and serialized into USB
  • on high CPU loads, image quality decreases further (CPU is taken from converting image to other tasks)
  • the output is NOT suitable for moving image, image must be converted from graphics card to USB3 and then back to DisplayPort
  • forget any dynamic gaming or movie watching
  • the output is suitable only for still images like work with text or still graphics
  • when image changes, signs of compression are visible for short time. During that time, details are not pixel-perfect
  • as a software developer I'm happy with such a solution, I don't need more. But if you demand brilliant image, fall back to HDMI 1920x1200  (still better than 1920x1080) or purchase a laptop with DisplayPort output (either direct or on docking station).  Convertibles don't go together with DisplayPort interface. Choose either 2560x1600 or an ultrabook... or a compromise described above.

My device is something like this: http://www.startech.com/AV/USB-Video-Adapters/USB-3-to-Displayport-Video-Card-Multi-Monitor-Adapter-2560x1600~USB32DPPRO    Note this Chinese device can be found offered by muliple brands in different prices. (I have bought the same as the above one but with different logo and some 20% cheaper.)  I think they all have one common manufacturer.

Reply
Options

234 Posts

08-20-2011

Bosnia and Herzegovina

1117 Signins

6736 Page Views

  • Posts: 234
  • Registered: ‎08-20-2011
  • Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Views: 6736
  • Message 7 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-13, 13:55 PM

wrote:

I haven't seen port replicator doing 2560x1600 or 2560x1440. If you check that one from Lenovo, you can find maximum resolution 2048x1152.

 

HDMI is NOT capable of such a resolution, as far as I know (check the Wikipedia). Only DisplayPort interface can do it.


Sorry, but that's wrong.

Even Yoga 2 Pro uses HDMI 1.4 which IS capable of driving 2560x1440 resolution. I don't see why Y3P wouldn't have HDMI 1.4 if Y2P has it...

 

Just search this forum and you'll find people who have their 2560x1440 monitors hooked up to HDMI.

For example here: https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Idea-Windows-based-Tablets-and/Yoga-2-Pro-Max-External-Display-Capabilities/td-p/1414833

Reply
Options

22 Posts

09-25-2013

Europe

19 Signins

458 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎09-25-2013
  • Location: Europe
  • Views: 458
  • Message 8 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-13, 14:07 PM

Regading your quotation if my post: Facts regarding docking station are valid, but with HDMI I was wrong!  I fixed the reply.

 

Anyway, check HDMI version (and capabilities) of the 2560x1600 display, too. Not so old displays cannot run 2560x1600 through HDMI, only through DisplayPort or through dual link cables.

Reply
Options

234 Posts

08-20-2011

Bosnia and Herzegovina

1117 Signins

6736 Page Views

  • Posts: 234
  • Registered: ‎08-20-2011
  • Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Views: 6736
  • Message 9 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-15, 8:16 AM

wrote:

Can a Yoga 3 Pro output 2560 x 1600 via the hdmi out, it seems like the answer is not.

 

So i started to look at port replicators thatll enable me to do so any suggestions.

 

Regards

 

John


Are you sure you used the HDMI 1.4 cable/adapter? Cables or adapters with HDMI 1.0 - 1.3 support only max 1080p, whereas HDMI 1.4 can take 4K resolution.

Sometimes you also need to play with settings to make things work...

 


wrote:

Regading your quotation if my post: Facts regarding docking station are valid, but with HDMI I was wrong!  I fixed the reply.

 

Anyway, check HDMI version (and capabilities) of the 2560x1600 display, too. Not so old displays cannot run 2560x1600 through HDMI, only through DisplayPort or through dual link cables.


Yes, I was referring only to HDMI thing.

Actually, it all depends on the HDMI cable. If the 2560x1600 monitor has HDMI input then that must be HDMI 1.4, and all it needs is HDMI 1.4 cable and the computer with HDMI 1.4 output, which Y2P and Y3P have.

 

If you're using a HDMI to xxx adapter then the adapter should support HDMI 1.4. If not then it'll convert to 1080p.

 

Reply
Options

22 Posts

09-25-2013

Europe

19 Signins

458 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎09-25-2013
  • Location: Europe
  • Views: 458
  • Message 10 of 13

Re: Yoga 3 Pro - output 2560 x1600

2014-11-15, 8:26 AM

Good point with the cable, it can help someone reading this.

 

I think most of big LCD owners are savvy enough to check their display manual for these conditions.

 

For example, manual to my display clearly states that maximum resolution with HDMI is 1920x1200 (DVI/DisplayPort can go up to 2560x1600). The funny thing is that it has HDMI 1.3, which should support 2560x1600. This illustrates that simply checking for HDMI version number might NOT be sufficient.

 

Based on this, my advice is to explicitly check device manual before purchasing.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms