cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 728
Message 1 of 7

Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

can't find how to adjust the GPU (Intel) to reduce it from using 2 gb of the 4 gb RAM in the machine - been in bios and thru Intel utilities, etc.....    machine running at a snails pace unless I throw it thru the window which is becoming an increasing possiblity.... GRRRRRRRR,  thanks for any help (inadvance)

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,772
Registered: ‎12-24-2015
Location: IN
Views: 690
Message 2 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

Hi there, Keneopos         -

 

Thank you for writing in to the Lenovo Forum - happy to have you here today.

 

The Intel Graphics that you have rides in the CPU and has no physical memory, it shares with the RAM that you have installed. This sharing is Automatic on default and there is no way of changing that. The system is not equipped with memory mapping like the desktop computers that you can manually select an amount of memory to share.

 

Dedicated video memory settings will be made on BIOS. I would suggest you to increase the dedicated video memory in the BIOS.

 

Update us how it goes.

 

 

 

 

Regards,         

 

Tap that kudos button if I helped 
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 672
Message 3 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

yah, you would think so.....
been in the bios several times and no reference to video alloted memory, is there a firmware upgrade to solve the issue?  The computer is currently running with more ram allocated to the GPU than the CPU and is almost impossible to use.....   can't believe Lenovo puts out computers like this....  So dissappointed, I am taking it back very soon......  with a wonderful Facebook post about my wasted time and Lenovo being garbage 

Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 664
Message 4 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

OK, so I have gone through the BIOS upgrade (to vs 31) please see pictures - you will note there is no options relating to adjusting the video memory so the GPU ends up with 2 of the 4 gb, less operational features of the operating system leaving the PC to work in almost no available RAM.   And this is straight out of the box - pretty crap.  runs like a snail - unusable, unless you can come up with a solution it goes back post haste

Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 662
Message 5 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

 
Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 661
Message 6 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

 
Kenepops
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-15-2017
Location: AU
Views: 660
Message 7 of 7

Re: Yoga 300 how to adjust GPU memory allocation????

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors