cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
S_D
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 12,969
Message 1 of 9

Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

I am planning to buy yoga 710 14" with 8Gb ram.  Is it possible to upgrade it to 16gb at a later stage?

neuromotor
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2016
Location: IL
Views: 12,645
Message 2 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

I've this question too, but in my case I already bought the laptop knowing that I might not be able to upgrade.
This is what I know so far:
Yoga 710 14" comes with 8GB(1 slot).
Lenovo spec documentation & site saying: "Up to 8GB", (probably hardware recommendation) - maybe for them(Lenovo) to install more than 8GB is like doing "overclocking".

After google it:
1.By Crucial.com(see: http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for//yoga-710-%2814-inch%29 ) the Yoga 710 14" is compatibile with 16GB stick.

2.In the official Lenovo forum somebody asked the same question, but for the 15" version(see: https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-Yoga-Series-Notebooks/Yoga-710-15-quot-RAM-Upgrade/td-p/3370497 )
and answered with yes - it's upgradable. he also upgraded from 8GB to 16GB successfully.

 

@S_D - I asked your question in Tom's Hardware too, you can follow: 

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-3182925/yoga710-80ty000fiv-ram-upgrade.html

 

-DEAR LENOVO SUPPORT TEAM - KINDLY TAKE 5MIN TO ANSWER THIS GUY QUESTION. IT BEEN ASKED SINCE 25.8.16, COMMON GUYS.

THANKS!

neuromotor
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2016
Location: IL
Views: 12,618
Message 3 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

UPDATE: ok I found lenovo's confirmation about the RAM upgrade for Yoga 710 14" .
*See photo attached.

SickRanchez
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-22-2016
Location: HR
Views: 8,158
Message 4 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

Have you actually done the replacement?

Zinect
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2017
Location: ES
Views: 7,692
Message 5 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

Did someone upgraded RAM successfully on YOGA 710 14ISK?

alceryes
Token Ring
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎12-11-2010
Location: US
Views: 7,685
Message 6 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

As far as how the memory is upgraded check out the hardware maintenance manual. Google this - yoga_710-14isk_14ikb_15isk_15ikb_hmm_201605. Pages 37-38 show you how to get at the RAM.

As far as whether it IS upgradable to 16GB, I'm not sure. I would take forum posts (yes, even this one) with a grain of salt. Some people unscrupulously post incorrect nonesense. At least verify from multiple sources before attempting. 

darkad
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-21-2016
Location: SG
Views: 5,498
Message 7 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

Hi Neuromotor, any luck or updates on your RAM upgrade research? 

 

Thanks!

 

darkad
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-21-2016
Location: SG
Views: 5,273
Message 8 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

Anyway, guys, I decided to bite the bullet went ahead and try out with a 16GB ram from Crucial-brand. Bought it on Amazon. 

 

I've replaced the ram on that single slot on my Yoga 710 -14ISK and it now shows 16GB installed and recognized by Windows!

 

So go ahead guys, I work on some film projects, and I must say this is a huge boost. 

 

16GB Ram shown.JPG

neuromotor
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-11-2016
Location: IL
Views: 4,552
Message 9 of 9

Re: Yoga 710 14" RAM upgrade

Hey Darkad! 
Sorry for not replying to ur message, I was off this forum for a long time.

I didn't tried to upgrade the memory at any point, I just wanted to know if it's possible & now we're all know it's due to your brave attempt! Smiley Wink

 

Well done my friend! and thanks for sharing this info with us!!! Smiley Happy

Have a nice day!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors