Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MSke3D
Fanfold Paper
Views: 591
Message 791 of 799

Re: Yoga 720 Display Issue

Thank you for your response. Yes this is a hardware issue, however, I found that this issue came up after the windows 10 updates. Smiley Sad  And I have found that it is not only Lenovo laptop that is having the same issues.  It is almost every manufacture who installed 4K screens and were working fine, until the latest windows 10 updates. 

Highlighted
Alchemist42
Fanfold Paper
Views: 575
Message 792 of 799

MSke3D,

Your 'solution' has been used by several others but it doesn't 'fix' anything and the issues ALWAYS hardware not some issue with Windows 10 and 4k displays.    I'm a osftware developer with several 4k display devices that I use regularly its never been an issue on any machine by the Yoga 720 and is extensively documented what hardware / design defect causes the problem.

What your solution does is mask the problem by reducing your screen resolution creating a black border around your screen like a letterbox DVD playing on a 4x3 screen.  Since the 'screen' is treated as lower resolution due to your setting change there is a black border around the screen... since the black line is also black you don't notice that its there anymore.   Its still there you just cant see it... and you are sacrificing screen resolution for that illusion. 

Its a workable solution for many...  its not for me as i need my 4k display to actually be 4k for application testing... 4k video rendering, etc. 

Since Lenovo never fixed the screen design... even sending it in for replacement just resets the clock before it happens to you again...   considering Lenovos complete disinterest in fixing the problem you have four options...

1. Mask it by lowering your screen resolution...