cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
dmpeterson
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-26-2015
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Views: 7,598
Message 1 of 10

Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

I'm running ArcGIS and all of the menus and icons are incredibly tiny.  I've tried tweaking the resolution and magnification and there are no consistent improvements.  Every once in awhile some of the menus and icons will resize to something that I can actually see, while others remain tiny.  This is very frustrating as I rely on ArcGIS for my research.  I'd really like to keep this laptop because I like its size and portability, but if this issue can't be resolved then I'll be forced to return it.  Has anyone else had an issue like this and, if so, what did you do to resolve it?

 

Also, I've experienced graphic issues where it said that the driver crashed and Adobe Lightroom is also not displaying my photos in edit mode. 

 

So far I'm very frustrated with this laptop from a technical standpoint. 

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 1,112
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: NL
Views: 7,549
Message 2 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

Perhaps you should consider returning the Yoga 900 for an older laptop that has a lower resolution, because the issues you mention are consistent with two things:

 

1) the Intel graphics driver for the new generation of Intel's "Skylake" CPUs and on-board graphics is still a work in progress. You are likely to see the error message "the display driver has quit working but has recovered" quite frequently on the Yoga 900 and laptops from other manufacturers using "Skylake". Newer versions of the driver from Intel improve things, but I don't think that we are quite out of the woods yet.

 

2) the QHD+ resolution of the Yoga 900 screen (3200x1800) is likely to give some older generation desktop software some issues, if the software has not been updated to use the scaling system built into newer generations of Windows. Teeny-tiny menus and icons are the result. Unless ArcGIS are planning to update their software to the modern age soon, you might be less frustrated by running it on a laptop that has a lower screen resolution.

----------------------------

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

 

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ...

dmpeterson
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-26-2015
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Views: 7,537
Message 3 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

Thank you for responding.  I was able to find a solution for my issue.  I adjusted the resolution to 1600 x 900 and left the magnification at 100%.  Now everything looks good on ArcGIS. 

 

I have noticed the the brightness on the computer increases and decreases when its not set at 100% even though auto-adjust is disabled.  Perhaps that will be taken care of with driver updates?

BB8
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2016
Location: Florida
Views: 7,461
Message 4 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

I came across the same issue on my brand new Lenovo Yoga 900 within the first 24 hours of owning it. I had Geek Squad look at it to see if they could fix it and was told pretty much the same thing that the other user told you, that it was likely an issue of compatibility with the scaling system of Windows 10 and the high resolution of the computer.

 

I was told my best bet at fixing it was to contact the developers for all the programs that I was having the issue with in the hopes that they could write a patch to fix the issue. As I do not have the time to wait for the developers to do this (I needed these programs for a class that I am currently enrolled in), I went looking for answers online and came across your post. 

 

The solution that worked for your laptop however was not able to fix mine. What I have realized after messing with some of the settings and preferences is that each program must be fixed individually. I was able to find a solution that worked for one program (BlueJ) but that same solution did not do anything for the other 2 that I am having trouble with. 

 

What worked for me was right clicking on the program shortcut and opening up the Properties for the program. I then clicked on the Compatibility tab at the top. There should be a section titled Compatibility Mode, and under that section there should be an unchecked box that says "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" with a drop-down menu right below it. I checked off this box, selected "Windows 8" from the drop-down menu, and then clicked Apply at the bottom. 

 

Like I said, this only worked for the one program. However, I hope this helps anybody else who is experiencing the same problem. If anyone else discovers a different solution that worked for them please post!

tonijj
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-02-2016
Location: Sweden
Views: 7,279
Message 5 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

hi,

 

Any fix to this?  I changed resolution but in MS Excel - Power View its so tiny even with a 1600 resolution as suggested above and increased DPI so its still impossible to use. 

PVICUNA00
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-20-2016
Location: US
Views: 6,921
Message 6 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

How can I replace the laptop yoga 900 13ISK by another model (T series) ? The fonts of  the YOGA 13ISK are tiny, I am delaing with this issue almost 7 month, I can not work with tiny fonts, I would like to change  this YOGA900ISK with other lenovo MODEL, my laptop is still in warranty.

 

 

AlanD96
Punch Card
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-11-2015
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Views: 6,899
Message 7 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

What worked for me was

Display settings:    125%

Advanced Display settings:  1600x900

 

I've never had to adjust individual settings in any single program since. I realize purists will say that this setting destroys the advantage of the high-res screen,  but since the screen is so small, I don't think most folks would really notice much of a difference (  just my opinion ).

Highlighted
popy
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-22-2016
Location: AT
Views: 5,991
Message 8 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

thx, this solved some issues with various programs on my yoga 900 too!
gcsimpson
Punch Card
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-23-2009
Location: US
Views: 5,243
Message 9 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs WHAT ABOUT A COMPLET SCREEN CHANGE

This issue is really not solved.  Resolution changes is not a real solution. 

 

I wander if there is some way to change screens and software so as to essentially replace this screen with the same screen in the old Yoga's

11_oct_12
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2016
Location: US
Views: 4,779
Message 10 of 10

Re: Yoga 900 13ISK - Super tiny menus and icons in some programs

My approach does not solve the problem totally, it makes easier to work with ArcMap in my windows 10, though.

In windows 10:

   Eather of following opptions:

   Resolution: 3200 * 1800 (Recommended), and Size of text, Apps and other items: 250 (Recommended), or         Resolution: 2048 * 1152 , and Size of text, Apps and other items: 175

Downloading and installing X-Mouse Button Control free Software (Last version) (you can donate for this awesom software application, if you want)

   Tilt wheel left or your desired button: Magnifier toggle on/off

In ArcMap:

   menu bar>> Customize>> Customize Mode>> Option tab>> select Large Icon

   Close the customize window. Any time you start ArcMap you should hit the Customize tab and close it without touching any thing. It would maximaze size of the icons in tool bars.

   In Table Of Contents double click on feature class (Layer) 

You are all set now.

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors