Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tsftd
Paper Tape
Views: 511
Message 1 of 2

Yoga 900, 6 months use review

OK, so I've been using my Yoga for 6 months now, and that gives me enough time to have pretty much formed a permanent opinion of it.

Overall:

It's been absolutely great.  I rarely wind up with a piece of technology that exceeds my expectations/hopes, but this has done it.  I build my own desktops, and had built my past 3 laptops as well.  However, I wanted something very niche to suit my wide range of usage needs, and building it was not practical (probably not possible either, for that matter).  That isn't to say that it's perfect; there are a few issues, which will be covered later.  But it's been better than I had hoped, and that's a tall order.

What I use it for:

Basically, pretty much everything.  I use it for light gaming when I travel.  I use it as a replacement for paper-printed flashcards in the classroom when I teach.  I use it for touch-screen edutainment games between classes (think wordworm).  I use it for software and web development (c++, php), everywhere from an office to standing on the train and holding it in one hand while typing with the other.  I use it for watching movies/TV/Youtube on the go.  Heck, my cats even use it as a heating pad.

The good: