Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

06-08-2021

Belarus

9 Signins

20 Page Views

• Views: 20
  • Message 1 of 10

Yoga 920 Fans aren't spinning - hardware specs and help for manual repair

2021-06-08, 16:08 PM

Hi,

Recently I noticed, that fans on my Lenovo Yoga 920 13IKB stopped spinning. Previously, they kicked on pretty often, but now they never start spinning even on high-load. CPU just throttles and the laptop became so hot, it's hard to touch.

My warranty has expired and I doubt we have a Lenovo service centre in our country. I have some experience with soldering and electronics and I'm wondering - is it possible to fix the problem manually? I've heard that on some laptop models there are specific chips on a motherboard responsible for controlling fans and it's possible to replace them. But does Yoga 920 have such microcontrollers? If yes, what part number do they have? Have anyone an experience fixing such problems?

Options

2968 Posts

11-04-2019

United States of America

287 Signins

26137 Page Views

• Views: 26137
  • Message 2 of 10

Re:Yoga 920 Fans aren't spinning - hardware specs and help for manual repair

2021-06-08, 18:47 PM

Welcome to the Community Forums @ psx!

Thanks for posting here!

Does the issue only occurs when using a specific app or doing a specific activity?

Also, can you please share here your device's MTM (machine type-model) number for us to check its specifications?

It can be seen through the device's label/sticker or its original packaging and does usually have a format of 8********R as an example.

Try pressing the FN + Q keys on your keyboard to toggle the Yoga 920 from either to Performance or Quiet mode then observe the fans if they'll make some sort of a noise and see if they'll be spinning.