cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
rahul_dhawani
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2014
Location: India
Views: 1,736
Message 1 of 5

Yoga pro 2 Resolution

what the f is lenovo doing? its my 3rd problem after buying in just 2 days!

Some apps have diiferent size to display. means i m not able to use netbeans, bittorrent for there small size display! changing reso didnt help much! need a fix solution...

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 4,447
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Location: Philippines
Views: 1,711
Message 2 of 5

Re: Yoga pro 2 Resolution

hi rahul_dhawani,

 

Thanks for Posting!

 

   Can you try Changing your Resolution to 1920 X 1080 then save the changes

Now follow the steops here to change the DPI settings

   http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/28310-dpi-scaling-size-change-displays-windows-8-1-a.html

 

Follow the steps until you reach this Settings

    untitled.JPG

 

Change your settings to Medium and hit apply at the bottom asking you to sign out,

    hit Sign out now and check your resolution.

 

this is what explains your issue

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Idea-Windows-based-Tablets-and/Yoga-2-Pro-Unexpected-display-or-graphics...

 

 

Hope this helps

Cheers!



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

grisjuan
Token Ring
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: dc
Views: 1,678
Message 3 of 5

Re: Yoga pro 2 Resolution

High-resolution displays like in the Yoga 2 Pro are relatively new on the market and many software vendors have not written their apps to work well at this resolution yet, it may take them a while to update their UI.

I run my Yoga 2 Pro at 3200x1800 and set the "size of all items" to its largest setting. Almost all the software I use works great with those settings (Visual Studio, Microsoft Office, Xamarin Studio, FireFox, etc).

I've heard several people here say Chrome is tricky to get working nicely as is Remote Desktop. Maybe if enough people complain to Google and Microsoft they'll update their apps.
artworksmetal
Serial Port
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎12-27-2013
Location: Virginia
Views: 1,585
Message 4 of 5

Re: Yoga pro 2 Resolution

Hi grisjuan. Where are you finding the "size of all items"  option?

 

I bought my Yoga 2 practically on a whim, because of the incredible display resolution. I am finding a lot of other things to like as well.

But I feel this resolution issue is not something that Lenovo should just blame on 3rd party software vendors and be done with it. Lenovo has been in the news a lot lately -

"Lenovo buys Motorola"

"Lenovo worlds largest PC Maker"

"Lenovo Net Profit up %30"

Etc.,Etc...

So Lenovo and Google certainly are on a first name basis. Why can't they get with Google and say "Hey pardner, we're selling a ton of these Hi-Res displays. Maybe we could make Chrome and Youtube work better on them."

Same with Adobe. Adobe Reader is just about unusable. Too bad, because the actual document output is gorgeous. Working with Adobe would solve a lot of issues I think, since browser apps that use Flash content (LogMeIn, for example)  give command buttons the size of spider mites.

I'm no software engineer, but I bet these are not difficult fixes considering that displays have been getting denser since day one. The KB Solid Cruver linked to was started over 3 months ago. The problem didn't just start then. And Lenovo was selling so many Y2P this past fall that they were out of stock just about everywhere. So there is a lot of users out there grumbling about how good this could have been.

Power Director 10, which comes bundled with the Y2P, isn't optimized either. This shows a real inattention to detail on the part of Lenovo. It certainly doesn't demonstrate an understanding of customer loyalty. If that's not on their radar, it will cost them eventually. When a manufacturer doesn't address it's shortcomings, and annoys its customers, it's like death by a thousand cuts. It leaves a bad taste in their customers' mouths, there will be no repeat business.

 

So Solid Cruver  - bump this up the food chain. It is a big deal. Some people get angry and vent like the OP. But most people just tell their friends.

 


"I always pass on good advice. It is the only thing to do with it. It is never of any use to oneself." - Oscar Wilde
grisjuan
Token Ring
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎03-11-2012
Location: dc
Views: 1,577
Message 5 of 5

Re: Yoga pro 2 Resolution

Hi grisjuan. Where are you finding the "size of all items"  option?

Please see Solid Cruver's post, there is a screenshot there of the option.


"Hey pardner, we're selling a ton of these Hi-Res displays. Maybe we could make Chrome and Youtube work better on them." Same with Adobe.... I'm no software engineer, but I bet these are not difficult fixes

I doubt Google or Adobe would let Lenovo software engineers work on their code. I also doubt they would let Lenovo dictate their software development priorities. If it comes down to fixing bugs and adding new features for 99.5% of users vs. improving hi-dpi handling for 0.5% of peope, I bet they won't choose hi-dpi support.

 

Supporting hi-dpi displays for desktop apps is nontrivial if the UI is built using older technologies like MFC or Windows Forms. It's much easier with the new UI model in Windows Store Apps.

 

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors