English Community

Lenovo NotebooksLenovo Yoga Series Notebooks
All Forum Topics
Options

1725 Posts

08-14-2011

USA

1886 Signins

25513 Page Views

  • Posts: 1725
  • Registered: ‎08-14-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 25513
  • Message 1 of 41

Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 20:00 PM

Is it me or is the new hindge just plane ugly? http://www.cnet.com/products/lenovo-yoga-3-pro/

 

http://oi59.tinypic.com/rjl005.jpg

 

Difference between Y2P and Y3P

  • Thinner
  • Intel M processor
  • New Hinge (maybe to prevent the screen from cracking)
  • No fan in the Y3P

 

That is all folks, it seems that nothing else has been changed.

 

So happy with the design of the Y2P. 

Reply
Options

265 Posts

07-04-2014

EU

924 Signins

7415 Page Views

  • Posts: 265
  • Registered: ‎07-04-2014
  • Location: EU
  • Views: 7415
  • Message 2 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 22:02 PM

Maybe the hinge is Lenovo's solution to cracks in the display of old Yoga's with the  2 hinge system that was introucing too much strees in some parts of the design. Just like the 7260AC solved some other problems.

I really like the new Yoga 3 Pro design: form follows function 

 

But I'd better stay away from any Lenovo product or 'service'...

Reply
Options

17 Posts

01-14-2014

California

367 Signins

1049 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2014
  • Location: California
  • Views: 1049
  • Message 3 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 22:03 PM

Yeah, it's slightly wider than the Y2P and costs a lot more too.   If they would have made it a digitizer-enabled screen then I think it would have been a worthwhile upgarde, but not with the current specs.

Reply
Options

254 Posts

11-09-2013

Charlotte, NC

339 Signins

2304 Page Views

  • Posts: 254
  • Registered: ‎11-09-2013
  • Location: Charlotte, NC
  • Views: 2304
  • Message 4 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 22:14 PM

Wow, that hinge is just hideous.  My guess is they needed it due to the thinness of the new device, but still - wow, they should have painted it black.

 

Also no stylus?  Fail Lenovo.  Until you add a stylus, please stop calling this a "Pro".

Reply
Options

83 Posts

12-26-2012

Chicago, IL

336 Signins

1440 Page Views

  • Posts: 83
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2012
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • Views: 1440
  • Message 5 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 22:35 PM

Nothing else? It finally has 802.11ac WiFi!

Reply
Options

23 Posts

05-24-2010

usa

40 Signins

203 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎05-24-2010
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 203
  • Message 6 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-09, 22:38 PM

Any word on whether the SSD and ram can be manually extended or replaced?

Reply
Options

1725 Posts

08-14-2011

USA

1886 Signins

25513 Page Views

  • Posts: 1725
  • Registered: ‎08-14-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 25513
  • Message 7 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-10, 0:05 AM

wrote:

Nothing else? It finally has 802.11ac WiFi!


The new Y2P from BB comes with AC cards. So nothing special here.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

10-10-2014

United States

9 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 33
  • Message 8 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-10, 1:42 AM

Yeah that hinge is pretty hideous.

 

Also a 5 row keyboard with no F keys? Ugh that might be a deal killer for me. Anyone have any clever workarounds for how I might remap other keys to F keys so I don't have to hold function when using keyboard shortcuts?

Reply
Options

23 Posts

05-24-2010

usa

40 Signins

203 Page Views

  • Posts: 23
  • Registered: ‎05-24-2010
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 203
  • Message 9 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-10, 1:44 AM

Typically you are able to remap keys in the BIOS. 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

10-10-2014

United States

9 Signins

33 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎10-10-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 33
  • Message 10 of 41

Re: Yoga "3" Pro

2014-10-10, 1:47 AM
Yeah, but what do you remap it to when there are no function keys above the number row at all? I know on the Y2P the keys default to volume, brightness etc. and you press Fn+<key> to get to F1, F2, etc., but those keys don't even exist on the Y3P.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete