cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sk3l
Fanfold Paper
Views: 285
Message 1 of 9

Anyone Have Working Hybrid Graphics on Linux?

Hello There,

I'm the owner of a new P1 Mobile Workstation; just received it at the beginning of February. So far I'm very pleased with the build quality of this machine. I am a software engineer, and my preferred OS is Linux. After receiving my laptop, I /dev/zero'd the drive and installed Ubuntu 18.04. Everything has worked well, in terms of drivers and compatability (not including the fingerprint scanner in this discussion), with the exception of the 'hybrid graphics' BIOS option.

When I set the BIOS option to 'discrete', the device functions normally, with respect to graphic rendering. I can boot the machine, my X session starts fine, laptop can be used via Thunderbolt dock to drive external monitors, and LiveUSB images from other distros boot up and render fine.

When I set the BIOS option to 'hybrid', none of the above holds true. The machine seems to boot ok (I get to passphrase prompt for unencrypting my LUKS volume), but X session doesn't start correctly. I'm confronted with a black screen. Sometimes I can change to run level 1 and enter a shell; other times seemingly not. Docking station doesn't work. Most strangely, I see similar types of misbehavior when using LiveUSB images, a Kubuntu one, a Gnome debian based one.

Does anyone have a functional 'hybrid' graphics install of Linux, if so, what distro, what drivers are you using, are you using prime or bbswitch, basically, how have you reached this functional state? I'm almost wondering if this condition is related to a certain BIOS & kernel compatability issue, given the broken rendering in both my Ubuntu install and other LiveUSBs.

Here are the particulars of my machine configuration:

* BIOS 1.17 (upgraded using Windows before I installed Ubuntu)

* Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, using 4.15 kernel (maybe I need a newer kernel, >= 4.18?)