Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GarryT
Punch Card
Views: 8,262
Message 1 of 10

Dual boot linux Mint Xfce 18.3 Windows 10 Yoga 520

I've been an ordinary mum and dad ubuntu user since Dapper Drake, 2006. And now Mint. I've installed ubuntu to dual boot with Windows tons of times, no dramas. But now with UEFI instead of BIOS, it's all new and scarry, at least for me.

With lots of false starts, breaking and reinstalling Win 10, googling masses of partial and seemingly conflicting recommendations for different machines, BIOS's and versions of Windows, it took me more than 2 full days. But now, Mint 18.3 and Win 10 are both working.

Obviously I'm no expert, this is what eventually worked for me.

1) Install the latest BIOS update, BiosUpdate-4qcn41ww.

2) Later you're going to destroy Win 10, so download the recovery media from
https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/au/en/lenovorecovery Remember, "this will be available for one time download", so don't loose it. It isn't just Win 10, it is Win 10 / Lenovo / McAfee already registered to your specific computer. Follow instructions and make a recovery USB.

3) In BIOS, Disable Fast Boot. Fast Boot is more like hibernate. It doesn't actually turn off the computer, but leaves leaves Windows alive. So Windows continues to own the wi-fi, disks, whatever. Then, booting linux, linux reports it can't find things and appears broken.

3.5) Later, after re-installing Win 10, do similar in within Win 10. Control Panel, Hardware & Sound, Power Options, Choose what the power buttons do, Change Settings that are currently unavailable, (UnTick) Turn on fast startup.

4) In BIOS, Disable Secure Boot. Secure Boot thinks linux is a virus.

Here's where it all gets a bit scarry, and I didn't find the helps very helpful or reassuring. Lots of info seemed to be written by & for people that already knew it, and the Lenovo stuff seemed to have been written by somebody with english as a second language.