Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
Message 1 of 3 (1,113 Views)

Looking for the pefect Linux Netbook

Hi all.

I'm making this first thread on the forum after reading it as an anonymous user for a couple of weeks.

There is much interesting stuff in here, but I haven't quite found what I want answers to.

I'll first of state my needs:

I'm in of a netbook that has a bit more than 1024x600 res (e.g 1366x768), capable of 5+ hours, 2gb ram, ssd and is fully linux compatible. I can't really spend a fortune either, so the lower cost the better.

A bit of my background: I got a masters degree in Marine construction and Computer Science. I've had a linux computer available since Redhat 2.0 was made available (thats long time ago). My favorite distro is Gentoo, and thats what I intend to put into my new netbook. I got a CCACHE server running so building gentoo will be no problem.

So to the discussion I had with myself:

1. The ability to run linux highly depends on the hardware. Most important is the Chipset and the CPU. The chipset contains about everything these days. Harddrive controller, Display/graphics-controller, USB controller and on it goes. Via C7-m is outrun by the Atom processor. The most frequently used Atom's are Z5x0, N2x0 and N4x0. I think the most interesting one is the Z series. It got the lowest TDP (2W). N2x0 got 2.5W and N4x0 got 5.5w. So The two first ones would be the smartest Choice.

Next challenge is the Chipset. Most netbooks fall into one out of three chipsets. S15w (poulsbo), 945GSE and ION.

S15w is in its own class when it comes to TDP, 2.3W. 945GSE does 6W and ION consumes 15.5W.

Of course this is all theoretical and highly dependent on the power saving technology behind it all.

I've already ignored the N4x0 series of CPUs. So the real combinations now is:

- Z5x0 + S15w

- N2x0 + 945GSE

- N2x0 + ION.

Then there is compability again.