Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MountainX
Token Ring
Views: 1,496
Message 1 of 13

Restoring Windows 10 after installing Linux on a ThinkPad

In all honesty, I hope I never need to restore Windows. But I just received a brand new X280. I plan to run Arch Linux on it. Usually, I wipe everything on the internal drive and install Linux. This time I thought I would save the recovery partitions. Since I have never used Windows 10 before (and I haven't even used Windows in over a decade), I need some advice.

What is the best way to allow for the future possibility of restoring this ThinkPad to the factory new disk configuration with Windows 10? (I don't wish to save any personal settings or data in this process.)

Here are the partitions I show on this brand new system:

# lsblk
NAME         MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE  MOUNTPOINT
sda            8:0    0 119.2G  0 disk  
├─sda1         8:1    0   260M  0 part  
├─sda2         8:2    0    16M  0 part  
├─sda3         8:3    0   118G  0 part  
└─sda4         8:4    0  1000M  0 part

# gdisk /dev/sda

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048          534527   260.0 MiB   EF00  EFI system partition
   2          534528          567295   16.0 MiB    0C01  Microsoft reserved ...
   3          567296       248020991   118.0 GiB   0700  Basic data partition
   4       248020992       250068991   1000.0 MiB  2700  Basic data partition

I would like to blow away partition 3 and make a new partition to install Linux. If I do that, and leave partitions 1, 2 and 4 untouched, will I be able to do the restore later? If so, what is the process?

What I assume I could do later is delete any Linux partitions I have created, then create a new partition 3 that is 118 GiB and has type 0700. I can do this in gdisk. It will be the same as the original partition, but not formatted and empty. Will the Lenovo recovery tool then restore Windows 10?