Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
phrue
Blue Screen Again
Views: 17,640
Message 1 of 6

Ubuntu on Thinkpad Yoga 11e?

Dear everyone,

I didn't know where to post this, so if you are an admin, please feel free to move this post.

I'd like to know if it is possible to install Ubuntu on the Thinkpad Yoga 11e. I'm completely new to Ubuntu, so don't expect any knowledge from me. Smiley Happy I've read somewhere that you need access to legacy bios for the installment. (Whatever that may be, but it seems to be crucial for OS installments...?) Is that given?

Greetings,

phrue

germanix
Punch Card
Views: 17,590
Message 2 of 6

Re: Ubuntu on Thinkpad Yoga 11e?

Hi phrue, I own 2 Thinkpad 11e models. One is the yoga model and the other a clamshell unit. The clamshell came with Windows 8.1 pre-installed. As I do not like, nor use Windows, I installed Ubuntu 14.4 LTS on this model. This is a very simple installation and is automatically taken care of by the Ubuntu installer. All you need is Ubuntu on a bootable USB as the 11e model has no DVD drive (or alternatively an exterior USB DVD drive) The Ubuntu installer recognizes that Windows is installed and asks you if you want to install Ubuntu alongside Windows or if you want to format the Hard Drive and install Ubuntu only. I opted to install Ubuntu only but both methods work fine. The installer then does its job and installs Ubuntu for you. No problem at all! I did find after the installation that everythings works out of the box with the exeption of the keyboard buttons regulating the screen brightness (it is always on full brightness). Guess I need to install some driver here but have not concerned myself with this yet as I am quite happy to have full brightness. The 11e clamshell does not have a very bright screen, only 200 nits, so I would have put it on full brightness anyway.