03-30-2014

Austria

4 Signins

24 Page Views

• Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 4

Unable to select Legacy Boot option on Lenovo ThinkPad 8

2014-03-30, 12:23 PM

I've been trying to install Linux for testing porpuses as well as a Windows 8 pro i have here with license. Sadly enough the Tablet comes with legacy boot disable by default so i'm nable to boot anything that isn't UEFI. How do i enable the legacy option on the ThinkPad 8? i've checked a thread here where it points to the restart screen where i can see the option to enable it but right now i can't see no option for that.

Link to image

Moderator note: images totalling more than 50k converted to links per forum rules:  Lenovo Community Participation Rules

Options

8270 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77238 Signins

2189139 Page Views

• Views: 2189139
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Unable to select Legacy Boot option on Lenovo ThinkPad 8

2014-03-30, 14:41 PM

Hello and welcome,

I've moved this thread to the Linux forum.

I don't have an answer to your question :(  I do have a question for you - to clarify things for others reading this thread:

Is the heart of the problem that the TP 8 is a 32-bit device?  You can certainly install Linux in UEFI mode - but it requires a 64-bit distro.

There may be (complicated) ways to finesse this.  For instance: http://askubuntu.com/questions/392719/32-bit-uefi-boot-support

I have't tried this - just asking The Google.

Z.

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog