Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jmbnyc
Paper Tape
Views: 2,248
Message 1 of 12

X1 Extreme with Linux brightness and suspend does not work

I recently purchased an X1 Extreme. I am a developer and only use Linux. I updated the BIOS to latest (1.12), installed Fedora 28, updated the NVidia driver to the lastet. I have had zero luck trying to get brightness control working (the brightness appears stuck at max). The system runs hot and worst of all the "suspend" does not work when the lid is closed which means that the laptop is useless.

I've tried almost everything that I can find to solve these issues. My grub command line is:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="resume=/dev/mapper/fedora-swap rd.lvm.lv=fedora/root rd.lvm.lv=fedora/swap rhgb quiet rd.driver.blacklist=nouveau mem_sleep_default=deep acpi.ec_no_wakeup=1 thinkpad-acpi.brightness_enable=1"

I also upgraded to Fedora 29 beta and latest kernel:

Linux extreme 4.18.13-300.fc29.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Oct 10 17:22:50 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

to see if that would solve anything, but it only succeeded in making booting almost impossible, It only seems to work if I boot into single user mode and then exit out.

Does anyone have this solved or know if there is a solution?

jsry
Paper Tape
Views: 1,998
Message 2 of 12

Re: X1 Extreme with Linux brightness and suspend does not work

I am using ubuntu and the only way to set the brightness level that works for me is xbacklight. On the other hand, suspend works for me if I do it pressing the power button or with "systemctl suspend" but, on Gnome, when I close the lid it does not suspend (it did with Cinnamon, I guess it might be a gnome problem).

jmbnyc
Paper Tape
Views: 1,988
Message 3 of 12

Are you using xbacklight from the command line?

I think might be correct about GNOME so perhaps I'll try to post in the GNOME foum, I posted in the Fedora forum but so far no response.