cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
npalmy
What's DOS?
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-08-2015
Location: U.K.
Views: 4,072
Message 1 of 56

5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

I have the unlocked xt1527 LTE model and after updating to 5.1 from 5.01 I no longer get band 12 on the t-mobile network.  I really liked the update, but had to go back to 5.01 and now everything is back to normal.  



Seems others have had the same issue 



https://www.reddit.com/r/tmobile/comments/39j0qb/psa_motos_51_update_to_the_2015_moto_e_disables/

Spiked
Token Ring
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎09-25-2014
Location: United States
Views: 4,072
Message 2 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

Which app are you using to determine the band that you're on?

npalmy
What's DOS?
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-08-2015
Location: U.K.
Views: 4,072
Message 3 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

LTE Discovery..



The only reason I got the moto E because it would support band 12 on tmobile. My other phone hardware M8 does not support this new band and I get no signal at work.  When I first got the moto E (on 5.0.1) first time ever getting signal at work!!  After upgrading to 5.1 no signal at all. I then decided to flash the old radio (baseband) from 5.0.1 while on 5.1 still no signal at work.  So flashed back to 5.0.1 and my signal is back at work.  Strange that is is not radio dependent...no clue.  

Bert-4
Token Ring
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎03-13-2015
Location: US
Views: 4,072
Message 4 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

I may be experiencing the same problem. A while back, I was in an area that T-Mobile was supposed to be covering with Band 12 and the coverage map showed wonderful LTE coverage there. I got nothing but 2G/Edge. However, at that time T-Mobile finally admitted that they hadn't turned Band 12 out there at all.  https://forums.motorola.com/posts/a9d06ffb9f



However, I was in the same area yesterday and the Sensorly map showed good LTE coverage at the eastern edge of that area, which should have been Band 12. Instead of the 2G/Edge coverage I'd experienced before, I got good HSPA+ coverage, suggesting that T-Mobile had done something out there, but I still had no LTE coverage, Band 12 or otherwise.



[Aside: How did you back up to 5.0.2?]

MPM1
What's DOS?
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2015
Location: Chile
Views: 4,072
Message 5 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

I bought this phone specifically for band 12, now it's broke? 



Anyone from Motorola care to comment? Is this being fixed?



 

MPM1
What's DOS?
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2015
Location: Chile
Views: 4,072
Message 6 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

Did the 5.1 update brake band 12 LTE on the xt1527 moto e 2nd gen?

MPM1
What's DOS?
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2015
Location: Chile
Views: 4,072
Message 7 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

Did the 5.1 update (Build/system version 23.11.15.surnia_retus.retus.en.US.retus) break band 12????????? XT1527, baseband M8916_20236.23.03.21.01R SURNIA_TMO_CUST, Build LPI23.29_15



OMG, should be an easy question to answer. Sorry I'm not going to reference the OP builds because they are old news, I'm asking about the current 5.1 build that is installed and referenced in my post.



Thank you

MPM1
What's DOS?
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2015
Location: Chile
Views: 4,072
Message 8 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

OMG



waiting for your response AlphaDog



https://forums.motorola.com/posts/ecb8265dfc

Spiked
Token Ring
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎09-25-2014
Location: United States
Views: 4,072
Message 9 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

I'm running the 5.1 update on an xt1527, system version 23.11.15.surnia_retus.retus.en.US retus, build number LPI23.29-15, and baseband M8916_20236.23.03.21.01R surnia_tmo_cust. I've checked the LTE bands using the LTE Discovery app at various locations around SE Michigan, and I have yet to see the phone use band 12. As far as I can tell T-Mobile should have band 12 active in my area. Unfortunately I never did any testing when I was still on 5.0.2, and I don't feel like downgrading just for testing, so for now I will wait and see if a fix for this will be released (hopefully with VoLTE and HD voice support added also!).

MPM1
What's DOS?
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-09-2015
Location: Chile
Views: 4,072
Message 10 of 56

Re: 5.1 upgrade on xt1527 broke t-mobile band 12

I can confirm two metro detroit T-Mobile band 12 sightings. I was on 5.0.2 using LTE discovery and had band 12 in Berkley at the corner of 12 Mile and Oakshire Ave (parking lot of a 7-11), also at the C gates at Metro airport.



Now that I have upgraded to 5.1 via official OTA, I haven't seen any band 12.



I'm not in town right now, so I cannot go to those locations to check