cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
ShabbirRudro
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2014
Location: US
Views: 7,029
Message 2 of 12

I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

Although I have selected 3G as my preferred network, my phone's still using the EDGE(2G) connectivity. Also I can't access the *#*#4636#*#* menu so I can't use the 'WCDMA only' option. The phone doesn't provide any option for selecting '3G only' or 'WCDMA only'. My phone's now at Android 4.4.4 and this issue should be addressed in the official Lollipop update.



3G signal here is fine. I have used 3G using the same SIM in my previous phone by 'WCDMA preferred' and 'WCDMA only' both. So signal strength's not the issue here. I just need to somehow be able to select 3G only.

SKR
Vachagan
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-22-2014
Location: United States
Views: 6,994
Message 1 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

I am having the similar problem. The connection on my MotoG is limited to EDGE/2G and never switches to a faster mode. I am getting lightning fast connection on my two years old Samsung Note 2 and even much slower and cheaper Galaxy Core with the same SIM... Tried all solutions posted on the web, none worked for me. The Motorola support team was less than helpful.



I am quite disappointed with this product...

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 27,431
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 6,994
Message 3 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

Are you both sure that the Moto G model you have has the correct frequency bands for your mobile operator?  If not, then you would only get 2G.



Where did you buy the phone? Who is your carrier? Under "about phone" what does the system version say?


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
ShabbirRudro
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2014
Location: US
Views: 6,994
Message 4 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

I'm in Bangladesh and using Airtel. My system version is 21.11.17.titan_retuaws.retuaws.en.US retus



My mobile operator uses the 2100 frequency band. As far as I know my phone supports 2100.

SKR
Mark_Emeritus Moto Emeritus
Moto Emeritus
Posts: 16,016
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: The Moon
Views: 6,994
Message 5 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM


ShabbirRudro said:


I'm in Bangladesh and using Airtel. My system version is 21.11.17.titan_retuaws.retuaws.en.US retus



My mobile operator uses the 2100 frequency band. As far as I know my phone supports 2100.


View original


You're phone is a US AWS phone. 



US GSM Model:

GSM/GPRS/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

UMTS/HSPA+ (850, 1700 (AWS), 1900 MHz)



See here.



Mark

Forums Manager



 

Mark
Former Employee
NAZMULHASAN
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-13-2016
Location: NA
Views: 6,887
Message 6 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

Dear, ShabbirRudra, I am also from Bangladesh and I am also facing the same problem. I have bought my phone from G&G last year, tried everything but still no 3G!!!
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 27,431
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 6,886
Message 7 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

What is the software version on your phone? See what others posted above? Maybe your phone is not intended for your market. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Motov1064
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2018
Location: ET
Views: 539
Message 8 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

24.201.4.titan_retuaws.retuaws.en.US.retus
How about mine?
aniketkar
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-30-2018
Location: IN
Views: 272
Message 9 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM

I have the same problem. I can't use 3G on my Moto 2nd generation. My system version is 24.201.4.titan_retuaws.retuaws.en.US retus  so please give me solution for this as soon as possible.

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 27,431
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 256
Message 10 of 12

Re: I can't use 3G on Moto G (2nd Gen) 8GB Single SIM


@aniketkar wrote:

I have the same problem. I can't use 3G on my Moto 2nd generation. My system version is 24.201.4.titan_retuaws.retuaws.en.US retus  so please give me solution for this as soon as possible.


The solution is to get a phone intended for your market. Using a USA phone in India is not guaranteed to get 3G or 4G - you need confirm the bands for your phone match the bands for your carrier. 

 

And this thread is over 2 years old, and the 2nd gen G is over 4 years old. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum