Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
frupoli
What's DOS?
Views: 37,036
Message 1 of 7

MotoG People App: not able to add contacts to SIM

Good morning.

I just bought a new Motorola Moto G. Very good device, useful software, very satisfied. I'm new in Android world, but not at all in PC and Apps world.

Doubt and question for you: when I add a new contact, I'm not able to save it to SIM card (I had all my contacts on the SIM card) but I can only add it to my Google account which I was requested to insert during initial setup of the phone.

My contacts are now on my account Google, but if I wanted to still have them on my SIM card... why cannot I wrtite them to my SIM?? angry Please an help and your advice.

Thank you.

live2skico
802.11n
Views: 36,970
Message 2 of 7

Re: MotoG People App: not able to add contacts to SIM

that's how android works, everything is linked to your google account (for better or worse).  Go into the people app, click on the 3 dots in the lower right corner and select import/export.  This will export your contacts as a .vsf file.  There are also apps in the market which will export your contacts to your sim card.  

But why do that? if you lose your phone, you've lost all your contacts.  With the contacts in Google, when you sync your gmail account to your next phone, all your contacts will be there. plus you can access them from any computer.   

frupoli
What's DOS?
Message 3 of 7

First of all, thanks for your answer.

I understand now the advantages of having my contacts in a Google account, I only wanted to have the choice. Why don't leave me the choice to save my contact to my SIM card, if I wanted or needed?

For me, saving my contact to SIM card could permit to me to have my contacts even on older phones wich are not smartphones and not connected to the web. I ensure that this could be a real possibility or need for someone.

Do u think that I could access my SIM card if I just disconnet my Google account from my phone? ....