Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto X PhonesMOTO X™ 1st Gen
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

07-19-2020

Canada

4 Signins

15 Page Views

• Views: 15
  • Message 1 of 13

XT1049 Moto X 1st Gent Will Not Allow System Update

2021-01-08, 3:22 AM
So here's the scenario, I've recently acquired a used Moto X first gen. I've been using a Moto G first gen for many years because I like the small format of these phones, but my old phone is only 8GB whereas this new one, or new to me, is a 16GB. Now I fully understand that with these older phones, their update ability is limited, which is fine, I'm only trying to install the 5.1 Lollipop update, which is currently running my older Moto G first gen from the current 4.4.2 that the Moto X is running. I can't seem to figure out why this update is running on a phone that's two years older.... but apparently 4.4.2 is as far as this Moto X is willing to go. Any thoughts or theories would be very welcomed. Cheers

Options

964 Posts

11-24-2020

India

138 Signins

13330 Page Views

• Views: 13330
  • Message 2 of 13

Re:XT1049 Moto X 1st Gent Will Not Allow System Update

2021-01-08, 15:57 PM

@ SDG20 wrote:

So here' the scenario, I' recently acquired a used Moto X first gen. I' been using a Moto G first gen for many years because I like the small format of these phones, but my old phone is only 8GB whereas this new one, or new to me, is a 16GB. Now I fully understand that with these older phones, their update ability is limited, which is fine, I' only trying to install the 5.1 Lollipop update, which is currently running my older Moto G first gen from the current 4.4.2 that the Moto X is running. I can' seem to figure out why this update is running on a phone that' two years older.... but apparently 4.4.2 is as far as this Moto X is willing to go. Any thoughts or theories would be very welcomed. Cheers

Hi,