cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
roberthahnsprin
What's DOS?
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Location: United States
Views: 3,037
Message 1 of 40

Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

 Hi,


My Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing and the Touchscreen is unresponsive. Its really bad on missed calls. I can hit the green dial icon 20 times in a row and nothing happens. Finally wait for about 30-60 seconds and it will dial.


Anybody else having this problem.


 


FYI...


I routinely reboot. Not running alot of apps. Latest firmware.


I've also noticed the browser is slow to render webpages no matter how fast the connection is.

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 3,037
Message 2 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

@robert


Do you have HAC mode enabled on your device?  I do not have an Admiral, but this would likely be in the menu>>>settings>>>call settings area


If enabled, please disable HAC mode.  It generally causes call related issues.

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 3,037
Message 3 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive


I routinely reboot. Not running alot of apps. Latest firmware.



Robert:


As a matter of practice, do you use the "back key" to back out of apps or do you just hit the home button and open another app?

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
CJO
What's DOS?
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Location: United States
Views: 3,037
Message 4 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

 I have the same issues but have been hesitant to say anything since my phone is rooted.  HAC is disabled and I always use the back key to exit out of apps.


CJ

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 3,037
Message 5 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

@cjo and @robert


Did your devices exhibit this behavior immediately (when they were brand new) or has this symptom "developed over time?"

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
CJO
What's DOS?
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Location: United States
Views: 3,037
Message 6 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

IIRC, I've had the issue since I first purchased the phone.  For me, it only appears after just making or receiving a call.  If it's been a while since I've made or received a call, there is no lagging.


CJ 

Highlighted
Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 3,037
Message 7 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive


CJO said:

IIRC, I've had the issue since I first purchased the phone.  For me, it only appears after just making or receiving a call.  If it's been a while since I've made or received a call, there is no lagging.


CJ 



@cj


Got it.  Good information.  Thanks.


To simplify it in my mind, it is almost like it has trouble resetting itself after a call....yes?  If you wait long enough for it to reset itself, then it works fine, right?  


Is this true for you too, @robert?

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
roberthahnsprin
What's DOS?
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-27-2012
Location: United States
Views: 3,037
Message 8 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive

 @ea,


 


Yeah thats pretty much my experience as well. There is usually a bit of a lag when dialing sometimes anyway...it just gets extremely bad after a phone call.

Moto Sr Moderator
Moto Sr Moderator
Posts: 13,987
Registered: ‎02-02-2016
Location: US
Views: 3,037
Message 9 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive


roberthahnsprint said:

 @ea,


 


Yeah thats pretty much my experience as well. There is usually a bit of a lag when dialing sometimes anyway...it just gets extremely bad after a phone call.



OK.  Just checked with someone using an Admiral in MA.  They say they have no lag in the dialer, so my next thought is what do you two have in common?


Hmmmmm....How about listing your apps?  You can use App Dragon App Lister to quickly and easily generate a list of apps on your device.  

Comment in the spirit of COMMUNITY: "Share experiences / expertise, engage in the discussions, and offer advice and suggestions."
CJO
What's DOS?
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎02-08-2012
Location: United States
Views: 3,037
Message 10 of 40

Re: Admiral freezes/lags when dialing/redialing - Touchscreen unresponsive


eaccents said:


CJO said:

IIRC, I've had the issue since I first purchased the phone.  For me, it only appears after just making or receiving a call.  If it's been a while since I've made or received a call, there is no lagging.


CJ 



@cj


Got it.  Good information.  Thanks.


To simplify it in my mind, it is almost like it has trouble resetting itself after a call....yes?  If you wait long enough for it to reset itself, then it works fine, right?  


Is this true for you too, @robert?



 Correct, it seems like it needs to reset before making another call and it takes a while to do so.


 



eaccents said:


roberthahnsprint said:

 @ea,


 


Yeah thats pretty much my experience as well. There is usually a bit of a lag when dialing sometimes anyway...it just gets extremely bad after a phone call.



OK.  Just checked with someone using an Admiral in MA.  They say they have no lag in the dialer, so my next thought is what do you two have in common?


Hmmmmm....How about listing your apps?  You can use App Dragon App Lister to quickly and easily generate a list of apps on your device.  



 


Another data point- I have a co-worker with the same phone (using the same towers) who does not experience any delays.


App Dragon App Lister says that it is not compatible with this phone.  I'm guessing that they haven't updated it for this sized display.


However, here are the apps that my phone is listing as being downloaded under the App Manager:


AdFree
AlcoDroid
ApineReplay
Amazon Kindle
Angry Birds
Angry Birds Rio
Apex
Amazon Appstore
B&N Nook
BAC Calculator
Band of America
Barcode Scanner
Box
Bubble Burst Free
Bump
CamScanner
Car Dashboard
Cardiograph
CarHome Ultra
ChessCom
Compass
Compowdre
ConvertPad - Unit Converter
CraigsNotification
Currents
Docs
Dropbox
eBay
facebook
Flashlight
Flixster
GasBuddy
Goggles
Google Sky Map
iHeartRadio
IP Cam Viewer Lite
iTrailMap
Jewels
Kingsoft Office
Lemon
LinkedIn
Lookout
Mabilo Ringtones
Mahjong
Maprika
Market Update Helper
Messenger
Motorola Media Link
My Matthews
NASCAR
NikonLenses
Pandora
PayPal
QR Droid
Quick Shop Pro
QuickPic
Radar Now!
RealCalc
redbox
ROM Manager
Root Explorer
Satski Lite
Shazam
ShootMe
Shopping list
Ski and Snow Reports
Ski Report
Ski Resorts Light
Skype
Snapbucket
SNOCRU
Social Location
Solitaire Free Pack
Sprint Music Plus
Sprint Radio
Sprint TV & Movies
Starbucks
Superuser
Symphony of Eternity
Tango
Tapatalk
Tasker
TeleNav GPS Navigator
Timerific
Titanium Backup PRO
Translate
Trapster
Undelete
WeatherBug Elite
Wifi Analyzer
World Series of Poker
WTSO
Yelp


Hope this helps,


CJ