Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMOTOROLA ATRIX™ HD
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

02-28-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 10

Issues with GPS

2012-07-19, 22:50 PM

Let me start with the first problem I noticed yesterday when some of the apps started acting up.  I noticed that in the weather circle that my phone said my current location was in Pretoria-Wes?  I found out thats like in Africa...ummm I'm in Kansas!  Around 30 minutes later it found my current location and didnt think much of it.  Today I decided to use navigation.  Long story short it could"t keep track of where I was at and never did get me to 2 different destanations.  I installed "gps test" app on both my A1 and A3 phones.  My original Atrix had excellent signal and locked on to 5 to 9 sats.  HD on the other hand was in and out and i noticed its trying to lock on 21 sats and says there are 21 sats there to lock on to.  I think its major confused and can't maintain sat lock.  Is this a software or hardware issue?  There are other issues too but this is major for me.


Thanks for any input.

Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

US

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-07-20, 1:45 AM

I have not had any problems. The only i issue i had was being on the interstate and trying to nav to costco... it kept thinking i was on surface streets or wanted to redirect me backwards every few seconds. Finally found out I was in "walking" mode.


 


Otherwise GPS has worked great in multiple cities.


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

16326 Posts

11-22-2013

US

11 Signins

305 Page Views

  • Posts: 16326
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2013
  • Location: US
  • Views: 305
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-07-20, 15:24 PM

@dehill


Did you maybe go into Maps quickly and then exit without letting it locate you properly the first time? Can you please force Maps to shut down. Do this by pressing the right softkey and then swipe the Maps app off the page to end it and then reload it and allow it to search your location. Also can you tell me what GPS settings you have enabled?  If force ending the app doesn't work. Power the phone off and back on and try it again.


Mark
Support Forums Manager 

Mark
Former Employee
Reply
Options

7 Posts

02-28-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎02-28-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-07-21, 2:23 AM

Mark,


It seems to be working better today and didnt lose itself at all.  I even used the Trackometer app while push mowing this morning and it did very well at tracking me.  I'm not sure which GPS settings you are talking about but in Location Services all are checked.  So I guess its working ok now but I;m going to keep an eye on it.  I still would like to know if anybody else that has downloaded the GPS Test app if on the "In View" it shows more than 10 sats in view. 


Thanks again

Reply
Options

16 Posts

04-05-2012

South Africa

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎04-05-2012
  • Location: South Africa
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-07-24, 15:14 PM
 :-)

Pretoria-Wes is part of Pretoria, one of our capitols here in South Africa :-)

I really hope we get the international version of the Atrix HD here in South Africa. It really is a beautiful phone.
Reply
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-08-02, 18:15 PM

I had noticed this with Waze. I found if I put the phone in sleep mode then wake it up again it is fine.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

08-04-2012

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2012
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-08-04, 21:03 PM

AFter the ICS update, I lost the GPS Enabled widget that used to be on my Razr Maxx. It was so easy to push this button to enable/disable the GPS function. Just like the Airplane mode....  Any ideas how I can bring that back??

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-08-04, 21:06 PM

@Omlet this is the wrong place for your post, this is the ATRIX HD forum.


The widget you're looking for is the one to toggle the GPS on and off? It should be in the widget pane called Toggle: GPS.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

08-04-2012

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2012
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-08-04, 22:02 PM

Oops--sorry about posting in the wrong place.  But no, the ICS system no longer has that beautiful widget and the ones via Google Play don't work.

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Issues with GPS

2012-08-04, 22:05 PM

It no longer looks the same, but I still have it on mine. Instead of blue it's pink now.


Either that or you could use the power control widget, the center toggle is for the GPS.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete