Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMOTOROLA ATRIX™ HD
All Forum Topics
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 10

Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 18:39 PM

Has any one else had an issue using the phone as a mobile hotspot? I have set up wireless tethering using the built in software and I can connect my laptop and it shows a connection to the network but no internet access. If I tether using USB it works just fine. I had no issue with my Atrix 4G once it was enabled using it as a hot spot.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

US

5841 Signins

132765 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 132765
  • Message 2 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:01 PM

Just to clarify:


 


You have the AT&T hotspot/tethering feature enabled on the AT&T side - you are paying for this reature?


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:19 PM

Yes. I have the feature turned on for my account. Like I sad using USB it will tether fine.

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:23 PM

You may still need to call AT&T. You will also need to upgrade to a new SIM card if you have not done so already.


Requirements for tethering are; LTE SIM, 2/3/5GB data plan w/ tethering enabled on the 2/3GB data plans. It's included in the 5GB plan.


 


This only works on AT&T plans, if the phone is unlocked the tethering will not work regardless of tethering on your plan due to the restriction on the SIM card.

Reply
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:29 PM

I have a new Sim as the sim from my Atrix 4G would not work (too big) I have 4GB tethering plan and that would not explain why it works with USB. This not my first rodeo. I have been connecting cell phones to my computer for a connection for a long time now. Also if I did not have an LTE sim I would not have got LTE speeds when I was in Las Vegas a couple of weeks ago. That was amazing speed.

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:33 PM

I wasn't sure, some people cut down their SD cards to fit or come from other devices that used microSIMs, and used an adapter with standard sims. 


4GB plan may not be supported, the USB tethering is supported as it was required to use the lapdocks. 


 


Do you get a validation error when you try to use it or does it just not work?

Reply
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:38 PM

The wireless tether connects validates and my laptop will see it and connect. It will then not have any internet connection. The 4GB plan includs tethering and I do not want to add another $5 to my bill. I will call AT&T and see what they say. It is a legacy plan and I never use anywhere near that much.

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:42 PM

If it validates it should be fine. Perhaps it's an issue with your laptop? You may need to set the network as a home/work/public network before it will work and make sure the TCP/IP settings are set to automatic instead of manual.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

63 Posts

05-13-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 63
  • Registered: ‎05-13-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:56 PM

servbotx said:

If it validates it should be fine. Perhaps it's an issue with your laptop? You may need to set the network as a home/work/public network before it will work and make sure the TCP/IP settings are set to automatic instead of manual.



 I tested on my Win XP work laptop and it connected and worked fine. I will have to try my personal laptop again and check the settings.

Reply
Options

5594 Posts

06-17-2010

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 5594
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 10

Re: Wireless HotSpot

2012-08-06, 19:57 PM

Good deal, let us know if you get it figured out. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete