Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMOTOROLA Webtop Docks and Lapdocks™
All Forum Topics
Options

48 Posts

12-02-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 48
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 11 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-22, 15:05 PM


I upgraded to the JB OS last night and the LapDock 500 still works.  WebTop 3.0 is still on my Droid Razr.   JB seems to work better with the LapDock than ICS.  I have seen improvements with the keyboard and the cursor jumping seems to be gone or not as bad..



I would like to figure out how to keep my display from going blank when idle while on AC power.  I highly doubt if an image would burn into the screen. I like how my HD Dock works where it goes dim and still displays the time of day.   

Reply
Options

13219 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

1407 Signins

8945 Page Views

  • Posts: 13219
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 8945
  • Message 12 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-22, 15:36 PM
You should be able to keep your screen lit by going into the developers option and checking the keeo screen on when on AC. I know my original lapdock never had a burnin issue. But my RazrM screen did. Just having it on a dock. I never had any other Motorola phone every do that.
Reply
Options

77 Posts

11-22-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 77
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 13 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-22, 16:26 PM
I just got a RAZR HD and was wondering if anyone could confirm/deny if the 500 would work with it. Thanks
Reply
Options

48 Posts

12-02-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 48
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 14 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-22, 19:50 PM


null

I just got a RAZR HD and was wondering if anyone could confirm/deny if the 500 would work with it. ThanksView original


I not sure if RAZR HD would work with the LapDock.   As far as I know Motorola (Google) announed lat last year that the yare dropping support for the LapDock.  You need Webtop 3.0.0 to be able use the LapDock.   There was a rumor that when the older RAZR and RAZR MAXX got upgraded with JB, they were going to loose the Webtop and LapDock. 



If you have Webtop installed on your RAZR HD, then it might work. Go into your setting and select About ans see if the following show up in the list.



Lapdock Version = Motorola  LD2 PREM v4.09



Webtop Version = wt-3.0.0



Also another way to find out if the LapDock will work but I could be wrong.  If you plug your HDMI output from your RAZR HD into a HDMI on TV, you would get a message pop up asking you if you want to use the WebTop or the Phone display to display on your TV set.  That will tell you if WebTop is on your phone.  I have connected my RAZR to my TV set plus my wife bought one of those mini projectors from Brookstone and when I connect my RZR directly to either one that message pops up.  However if it doesn't pop up and your RAZR HD displays on on TV set, I wouldn't rule out the LapDock not funtioning.  Because it hooks up via the HDMI out from your phone.  I would tend to believe you will just get your phone display on the LapDock which would work as well.   I could be wrong.   If you can find Verison Store that has a LapDock on Display (which I guess your won't) you could ask to connect your phone to it to see if it works.



You also can ask Motorola on here or on their Facebook page.  They are pretty much responsive.  Except to me, because I am a pain in the you know what.

Reply
Options

13219 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

1407 Signins

8945 Page Views

  • Posts: 13219
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 8945
  • Message 15 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-22, 22:09 PM


null

I just got a RAZR HD and was wondering if anyone could confirm/deny if the 500 would work with it. ThanksView original




As it says here https://motorola-global-portal.custhelp.com/app/answers/prod_answer_detail/a_id/90431/p/30%2C6720%2C8448 the answer is no.sad

Reply
Options

77 Posts

11-22-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 77
  • Registered: ‎11-22-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 16 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-30, 17:09 PM
Just an fyi a coworker has a lapdock 100 and we hooked my HD to it, worked like a champ. My tele neither has Web or laptop anything but still worked. Just plugged it in and basically went right into a sunroof like mode just how my original RAZR did after being promoted. Thought some may like to know.
Reply
Options

46 Posts

11-10-2011

United States

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 46
  • Registered: ‎11-10-2011
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 0
  • Message 17 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-03-31, 19:09 PM


 About a month ago, a friend of mine had a New Razr Max HD that we plugged into my 500 and all we got was black screen. So it did not work. That's really to bad. There needs to be a work around.

Reply
Options

12372 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

2935 Signins

20947 Page Views

  • Posts: 12372
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 20947
  • Message 18 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2013-04-01, 0:33 AM


biothunder said:


 About a month ago, a friend of mine had a New Razr Max HD that we plugged into my 500 and all we got was black screen. So it did not work. That's really to bad. There needs to be a work around.


View original


 I think Motorola's position on this was that if the phone originally supported webtop, it would continue to support webtop; but if it never supported webtop, they weren't going to add it.



Maybe a "tinkerer" out there has figured something out, though...

Reply
Options

7 Posts

05-09-2014

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2014
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 19 of 19

Re: jellybean and lapdock 500

2014-06-10, 5:55 AM


johnnie008 said:


I upgraded to the JB OS last night and the LapDock 500 still works.  WebTop 3.0 is still on my Droid Razr.   JB seems to work better with the LapDock than ICS.  I have seen improvements with the keyboard and the cursor jumping seems to be gone or not as bad..



I would like to figure out how to keep my display from going blank when idle while on AC power.  I highly doubt if an image would burn into the screen. I like how my HD Dock works where it goes dim and still displays the time of day.   




Go to setting, then to Developer options, then click on Stay Awake and as long as the AC/DC power supply is hooked up, the screen will stay awake.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms