Motorola Community

Older Devices ArchiveMOTOROLA XOOM™ (Non-U.S.)
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

08-31-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 1 of 12

Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-08-31, 11:14 AM

I have recently purchased a Xoom  3g model in the UK. I have updated to 3g via wifi but now want to set up the 3g. I have inserted a number of SIM cards but all I get is "No Internet Connection" even though there is a signal present and a text message received indicating that a top up was registered.

Can you please indicate how I might obtain a connection. Is it the APNs that need changing on the Xoom?

Any help appreciated

Thanks

Bladedrummer

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

930 Posts

07-10-2010

United Kingdom

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 930
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2010
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 0
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-08-31, 19:30 PM

Yes, you would need the correct APN settings in order to use mobile internet. From my experience (in Germany), pay as you go simcards don't always provide the correct APN settings automatically. If any, they tend to give you the most expensive settings, which will drain your topped up money in no time.

So you'd have to look up the correct settings for your provider on their webpage or through their support and enter them manually under

settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile networks > Acces Point names.

Make sure to delete or disable the wrong ones and only use the one for pay and go.

bladedrummer wrote:

I have recently purchased a Xoom  3g model in the UK. I have updated to 3g via wifi but now want to set up the 3g. I have inserted a number of SIM cards but all I get is "No Internet Connection" even though there is a signal present and a text message received indicating that a top up was registered.

Can you please indicate how I might obtain a connection. Is it the APNs that need changing on the Xoom?

Any help appreciated

Thanks

Bladedrummer

Reply
Options

230 Posts

08-08-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 230
  • Registered: ‎08-08-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-01, 6:06 AM

Welcome back TRose, we haven't seen you around for a while.

Have a nice day.

Reply
Options

27 Posts

05-18-2011

Germany

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎05-18-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 0
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-01, 6:44 AM

I can confirm that. E.g. i inserted a german Vodafone SIM and the APN name was automatically set to web.vodafone.de, but the correct APN is event.vodafone.de, so i had to change that to get a connection...

Cheers

Reply
Options

930 Posts

07-10-2010

United Kingdom

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 930
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2010
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-01, 9:25 AM

Heh, same for me.:) web.vodafone.de is just the standard APN with like 1Euro per megabyte if you're on "pay as you go". If you don't manually change to event.vodafone.de internet will work just fine, just ridiculously expensive and you can't book any flatrate packets like e.g. 1 week for 10 Euros. You can only top up.;)

The page where you can book flatrate packets can only be reached through event.vodafone.de.

dl9sec wrote:

I can confirm that. E.g. i inserted a german Vodafone SIM and the APN name was automatically set to web.vodafone.de, but the correct APN is event.vodafone.de, so i had to change that to get a connection...

Cheers

Reply
Options

930 Posts

07-10-2010

United Kingdom

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 930
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2010
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 0
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-01, 9:31 AM

Thanks. I was on holiday for 4 weeks, that's why.

haveaniceday wrote:

Welcome back TRose, we haven't seen you around for a while.

Have a nice day.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-31-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-31-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-01, 9:52 AM

Further to my initial query, my menu doesn't seem to have an "ACTIVATE DEVICE" option on the Mobile Networks Option. Could this be part of the problem?

Cheers

Bladedrummer

Reply
Options

230 Posts

08-08-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 230
  • Registered: ‎08-08-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-02, 11:30 AM

Holiday for 4 weeks !!!!!

I never had more than 2 weeks in my life.

Reply
Options

930 Posts

07-10-2010

United Kingdom

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 930
  • Registered: ‎07-10-2010
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Views: 0
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-02, 11:59 AM

2 weeks in a whole life? That's not a lot.

haveaniceday wrote:

Holiday for 4 weeks !!!!!

I never had more than 2 weeks in my life.

Reply
Options

230 Posts

08-08-2011

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 230
  • Registered: ‎08-08-2011
  • Location:
  • Views: 0
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: Pay as You Go on 3g

2011-09-03, 17:34 PM

Guys,

If you are interested in using 3G on pay as you go in the UK I would advise you to go to a T-mobile shop and ask for a pay as you go sim with ipad/iphone offer, they are giving away 12 months free internet, the only problem is that it is a microsim but you can either use a converter or cut the plastic card that comes with microsim attached to the size of a normal sim, it works, I have now got 12 months free internet.

After a year, I will have free internet for 6 months for every £20 top up.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete