Motorola Community

Moto C PhonesMoto C & Moto C Plus
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

10-03-2017

PT

11 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎10-03-2017
  • Location: PT
  • Views: 261
  • Message 1 of 66

Status Bar Clock

2017-10-03, 20:14 PM

Hi,

 

The clock on the status bar at the top sometimes fails to keep correct time but the clock widget on the home screen is always showing the time correctly.

 

Can you help me with this strange bug in my Moto C?

 

Thanks in advance.

Reply
Options

5405 Posts

07-12-2014

US

925 Signins

79600 Page Views

  • Posts: 5405
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 79600
  • Message 2 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-03, 20:42 PM

wrote:

Hi,

 

The clock on the status bar at the top sometimes fails to keep correct time but the clock widget on the home screen is always showing the time correctly.

 

Can you help me with this strange bug in my Moto C?

 

Thanks in advance.


Hi david_01,

 

Please get a screenshot and a bug report right after it happens. Bug report will collect information about your current device state. Below are the steps for getting bug report:


1. Go to Settings -> About Phone -> Tap on Build number seven times on the build number to enable a new Settings item, Developer options.
2. Go to Settings ->Developer options -> Enable USB debugging > Toggle On
3. Enable Settings -> Developer options -> Enable Bug Report shortcut > Toggle On
4. Once the issue is reproduced: Go to Settings -> Developer options -> Click on take bug report or Press Power button and then choose Bug Report from the Power down menu.
5. Wait for some time until the bug report is collected. It takes around 3 to 4 minutes tocollect the Bug Report.
6. Then upload the BugReport to your personal Google Drive and then share the link tothe BugReport on the forums in a reply or via a private message..
7. Provide observations of what you saw happen right before the bug report was taken. Please indicate the local time when you observed the behavior.

Regards,
JM
Motorola Support

Reply
Options

8 Posts

10-03-2017

PT

11 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎10-03-2017
  • Location: PT
  • Views: 261
  • Message 3 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-04, 14:59 PM

Hi,

 

Thank you for your reply.

 

I wrote before that the clock widget on the home screen worked fine but i noticed now that it freezes too. However, it refreshes to the correct time again when I lock/unlock the screen.

 

In turn, the clock on the top status bar only refreshes to the correct time again if I go to Settings > Date & Time > Automatic Time Zone (toggle off and on this one).

 

This happen today around 2:50 PM. I opened Gmail, WhatsApp and Play Store apps and after then I noticed that the clock on the top had stopped/frozen once again.

 

I'll send you the Bug Report file via PM.

 

Thank you.

Reply
Options

5405 Posts

07-12-2014

US

925 Signins

79600 Page Views

  • Posts: 5405
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 79600
  • Message 4 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-04, 17:29 PM

wrote:

Hi,

 

Thank you for your reply.

 

I wrote before that the clock widget on the home screen worked fine but i noticed now that it freezes too. However, it refreshes to the correct time again when I lock/unlock the screen.

 

In turn, the clock on the top status bar only refreshes to the correct time again if I go to Settings > Date & Time > Automatic Time Zone (toggle off and on this one).

 

This happen today around 2:50 PM. I opened Gmail, WhatsApp and Play Store apps and after then I noticed that the clock on the top had stopped/frozen once again.

 

I'll send you the Bug Report file via PM.

 

Thank you.


Thanks david_01! I know some of these have already been answered but I'd like to confirm the following:

 

1. Does the clock in the notification bar ever refresh? Or is it stuck on one time? If it does refresh, what triggers it (if you can tell)?
2. If you try a 3rd-party clock app, which time does it display?
3. If you deselect the options to pick up time from the network and instead set it manually, what happens then? Do the two clocks match?
4. Are you using any kind of sleep mode on your phone as a battery-saving feature?

 

 -JM

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

10-03-2017

PT

11 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎10-03-2017
  • Location: PT
  • Views: 261
  • Message 5 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-06, 20:11 PM

Hi,

 

Thank you for your reply.

 

1. The clock in the notification bar only refreshes if I toggle off and on the option in Settings > Date & Time > Automatic Time Zone.

2. I never tried a 3rd-party clock. I can do this next time and make the test.

3. I can try it and post the results.

4. I'm not using any kind of sleep mode or a battery saving feature.

 

Thank you once again.

Reply
Options

5405 Posts

07-12-2014

US

925 Signins

79600 Page Views

  • Posts: 5405
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 79600
  • Message 6 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-06, 21:47 PM

wrote:

Hi,

 

Thank you for your reply.

 

1. The clock in the notification bar only refreshes if I toggle off and on the option in Settings > Date & Time > Automatic Time Zone.

2. I never tried a 3rd-party clock. I can do this next time and make the test.

3. I can try it and post the results.

4. I'm not using any kind of sleep mode or a battery saving feature.

 

Thank you once again.


I've already shared this with our product team, including the bug report you provided, but any additional information you can provide will greatly help. I will post back once I have more information about it.  -JM

Reply
Options

5405 Posts

07-12-2014

US

925 Signins

79600 Page Views

  • Posts: 5405
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 79600
  • Message 7 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-11, 18:52 PM

Hello! Thank you guys for bringing this to our attention. I'm please to let you know that we will have improvements to address this in a future update.

 

Regards,

JM

Motorola Support

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

10-03-2017

PT

11 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎10-03-2017
  • Location: PT
  • Views: 261
  • Message 8 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-12, 0:07 AM

Thank you.

 

I'll wait for the future update to fix it.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-28-2017

GB

8 Signins

138 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-28-2017
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 138
  • Message 9 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-10-28, 7:31 AM

That's all very well but when will the update be done? 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-15-2017

GB

2 Signins

17 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-15-2017
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 17
  • Message 10 of 66

Re: Status Bar Clock

2017-11-01, 21:48 PM
I'm having the exact same issue. It seems to affect the alarm too as mine has not gone off properly in weeks. Sometimes it goes off late sometimes not at all. I have had to switch back to my old Sony experia as the alarm is one of the features I use heavily. Any clue when this will be fixed?
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete