Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto E PhonesMoto E6 Plus/ Moto E6S (India)
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

01-17-2021

Italy

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2021
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 10
  • Message 1 of 4

Changed display to E6 plus, works fine but doesn't unlock!

2021-01-17, 19:33 PM

Hi all,

 

I just replaced the broken display to my wife's Moto E6 Plus (XT-2025-2).

Frankly, I purchased on Ebay.

Found a tutorial on YT, followed instructions...

Restarting the phone, it all seemed working fine, until: AS IT GOES IN STANDBY (BLACK DISPLAY) THERE'S NO WAY TO RE-ANIMATE THE DISPLAY. Pressing the power button (or the finger sensor) just makes the display slightly less black(a very timid light), but the display doesn't awake until restarting the phone. In the "dead display mode" phone calls do work, passing the finger on the display does allow answering.

I tried forcing reset, changing unlock params, no chance. Or so it seems.

 

Any insight?

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Reply
Options

3589 Posts

03-11-2019

United States of America

722 Signins

55665 Page Views

  • Posts: 3589
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55665
  • Message 2 of 4

Re:Changed display to E6 plus, works fine but doesn't unlock!

2021-01-18, 17:59 PM

Hi Motoaficionado,

 

I will try my best to help you with this. May we know where did you purchase the replacement part of the display?

 

Best regards,
Zeke
Motorola Support



Did someone help you today? Press the Thumbs up icon on the bottom right thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-17-2021

Italy

2 Signins

10 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2021
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 10
  • Message 3 of 4

Re:Changed display to E6 plus, works fine but doesn't unlock!

2021-01-18, 18:42 PM

Hi,

thank you very much.

 

I just bought an E7 plus for my wife here in Italy, my nickname is not Motoaficionado for nothing...(my own is a G5 plus, since...4 years? And a G3 before).

 

Anyway, I bought the display on Ebay, a seller called "burp-online", was listed as a part for the E6 plus XT-2025.

 

By the way, as I wrote, when restarted it all seems to work fine, but soon it likely happens that colours become sort of "maximum contrast" (solely full red, yellow and black, or maybe sort of low-resolution blue, kind of 8 bit colours, just to explain...). It happened also a crazy flickering. The power button may awake the display 1 out of 20 times.

Being my first try, I admit not using gloves during the job. I also warmed some 5 minutes with an hairdryer hoping to detach parts easily, at 2 inches distance.

I could also mistakenly forced a little bit the power button, but I guess if it would be damaged it wouldn't restart!

 

Thank you again,

cheers

 

Reply
Options

3589 Posts

03-11-2019

United States of America

722 Signins

55665 Page Views

  • Posts: 3589
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 55665
  • Message 4 of 4

Re:Changed display to E6 plus, works fine but doesn't unlock!

2021-01-19, 14:25 PM

@ Motoaficionado wrote:

Hi,

thank you very much.

 

I just bought an E7 plus for my wife here in Italy, my nickname is not Motoaficionado for nothing...(my own is a G5 plus, since...4 years? And a G3 before).

 

Anyway, I bought the display on Ebay, a seller called "burp-online", was listed as a part for the E6 plus XT-2025.

 

By the way, as I wrote, when restarted it all seems to work fine, but soon it likely happens that colours become sort of "maximum contrast" (solely full red, yellow and black, or maybe sort of low-resolution blue, kind of 8 bit colours, just to explain...). It happened also a crazy flickering. The power button may awake the display 1 out of 20 times.

Being my first try, I admit not using gloves during the job. I also warmed some 5 minutes with an hairdryer hoping to detach parts easily, at 2 inches distance.

I could also mistakenly forced a little bit the power button, but I guess if it would be damaged it wouldn' restart!

 

Thank you again,

cheers

 

 

Try checking if the flex cable is not damaged and make sure its properly connected. It could be that the replacement display you got is not working. You can try taking the device to a service center to check what went wrong. 

 

Best regards,
Zeke
Motorola Support



Did someone help you today? Press the Thumbs up icon on the bottom right thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

We value your opinion. Read More

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms