cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Harsha_1
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-12-2019
Location: IN
Views: 314
Message 1 of 6

Issue with GPS in G4Plus model

Hi, Recently I've updated my mobile to Oreo, and since then I'm facing issues with GPS. When navigating using maps, suddenly message displays like "gps signal lost..." It connects back after a while and again signal losts

 

I've enabled location settings, selected high accuracy mode, verified mobile signal..All are fine. Please help me in resolving the issue or pls let me know how to remove the oreo update. Thanks!

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 6,017
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 260
Message 2 of 6

Re: Issue with GPS in G4Plus model


@Harsha_1 wrote:

Hi, Recently I've updated my mobile to Oreo, and since then I'm facing issues with GPS. When navigating using maps, suddenly message displays like "gps signal lost..." It connects back after a while and again signal losts

 

I've enabled location settings, selected high accuracy mode, verified mobile signal..All are fine. Please help me in resolving the issue or pls let me know how to remove the oreo update. Thanks!


Hi Harsha_1,

 

Thank you for reporting, just to narrow down--can you test in Safe Mode to see if this is an app issue? To go into Safe Mode, press the physical power key, then press and hold the pop-up " Power off" key until the Safe Mode instructions pop up. Reboot your device to get back to the 'Normal Mode'.

 

Could you also confirm if you started noticing this right after the update? Can we also test this in open space > to do so > locate Device Help app > Hardware test > GPS and share us the screenshot? We would also want you to perform clear cache/data on the Google Maps > Reboot your device > make sure the app is updated to the latest version available on the Play Store and observe. Let us know how it goes?

 

Regards,

Swaraj

Motorola Support

 

 

If you need a reference in updating your profile, please click this link. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943
Harsha_1
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-12-2019
Location: IN
Views: 234
Message 3 of 6

Re: Issue with GPS in G4Plus model

Hi Swaraj, 

 

Thanks for replying. Please find the details below as per your instructions.

1. I've rebooted my system in safe mode and then restarted back to normal mode

2. Yes, i've observed this GPS issue after oreo update

4. I've cleared cache on google apps

3. I've performed hardware test as u said and i see its thrown an error. Attached screen shotsScreenshot_20190719-132535.png

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 6,017
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 191
Message 4 of 6

Re: Issue with GPS in G4Plus model

Thank you for the screenshot Harsha_1, we have shared your information with our product team. We might need a Bug Report for further investigation. Let us know if you need steps on how to capture this?

 

If you have already tested in Safe Mode with no avail, the next option would be taking a backup and performing Factory Data Reset without restoring any apps to see if it helps? If not, the next logical option would be to have your device sent for service/repair.

 

Regards,

Swaraj

Motorola Support

 

 

If you need a reference in updating your profile, please click this link. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943
Harsha_1
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-12-2019
Location: IN
Views: 185
Message 5 of 6

Re: Issue with GPS in G4Plus model

Hi Swaraj,

 

Pls let me know steps to capture logs, we'll proceed with this now and take futher action based on the analysis. Thanks.

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 544
Registered: ‎03-11-2019
Location: US
Views: 177
Message 6 of 6

Re: Issue with GPS in G4Plus model

Hi Harsha_1,

 

Here are the steps on how to take a bug report. 

 

BUG REPORT FOR NORMAL ISSUE:
Go to Settings ->Developer options -> Enable USB debugging > Toggle On
Enable Settings -> Developer options -> Enable Bug Report shortcut > Toggle On
Once the issue is reproduced: Go to Settings -> Developer options -> Click on take bug report or Press Power button and then choose Bug Report from the Power-down menu.
Wait for some time until the bug report is collected. It takes around 3 to 4 minutes to collect the Bug Report.
Then upload the BugReport to your personal Google Drive and then share the link to the bug report on the forums in a reply.
Provide observations of what you saw happen right before the bug report was taken. Please indicate the local time when you observed the behavior.


Best regards,
Zeke
Motorola Support

Top Kudoed Authors