Motorola Community

Moto G PhonesMoto G6 / Moto G6 Plus / Moto G6 Play
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

02-17-2019

NL

3 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2019
  • Location: NL
  • Views: 35
  • Message 231 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-20, 20:01 PM

Hi,

 

Since a couple of months my G6 Plus cant find GPS. Its a very annoying problem. 

Based on the previous messages, there is no foreseeable solution. Such a shame indeed. 

Reply
Options

35 Posts

07-02-2018

GB

100 Signins

547 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 547
  • Message 232 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-20, 20:14 PM

Agent_Swaraj, and any other agents who have commented on this thread, where have you gone???

And why isn't it FIXED????

You're not even giving us the courtesy of updates!!!

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-24-2019

NL

1 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2019
  • Location: NL
  • Views: 12
  • Message 233 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-24, 14:59 PM

Here is another "me too"! I am now driving with two phones. My old phone for GPS and my Motorola for WiFi-tethering. It is rumoured though that the update to Android Pie will fix this. Until that time I would advice anyone to stay away from Moto G6 phones. This is my last Moto as well.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

07-02-2018

GB

100 Signins

547 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 547
  • Message 234 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-24, 16:37 PM

Don't waste your time commenting on this issue, Lenovo are not interested in fixing it.

If they were, they would have done so back in the middle of 2018, when it was first reported.

They've even given up on replying now.

Geoff.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

10-21-2018

HU

17 Signins

122 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2018
  • Location: HU
  • Views: 122
  • Message 235 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-25, 7:32 AM

Really annoying error. But it is so easy to solve it so much!

Go to

Settings--->

Security & Location--->

Location--->

Mode--->

switch Device only-Battery saving-High accuracy--->

DONE!

This is approx. 10 sec. Apart from that, it's a great device!

Bye

Reply
Options

14 Posts

01-25-2019

US

21 Signins

366 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 366
  • Message 236 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-25, 15:39 PM

 wrote:

Really annoying error. But it is so easy to solve it so much!

Go to

Settings--->

Security & Location--->

Location--->

Mode--->

switch Device only-Battery saving-High accuracy--->

DONE!

This is approx. 10 sec. Apart from that, it's a great device!

Bye


Nope! That didn't work for many of us. I have mine set to high accuracy and have for a while. I double check it every once in a while in case it reverts when my battery runs low.

Reply
Options

14 Posts

01-25-2019

US

21 Signins

366 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎01-25-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 366
  • Message 237 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-26, 14:30 PM

 wrote:

Really annoying error. But it is so easy to solve it so much!

Go to

Settings--->

Security & Location--->

Location--->

Mode--->

switch Device only-Battery saving-High accuracy--->

DONE!

This is approx. 10 sec. Apart from that, it's a great device!

Bye


Nope! I'm glad that worked for you, but that solution has not worked for many of us. My GPS is set to high accuracy, and I still have the problem. I even check to make sure it's still set to high accuracy after I let the battery get too low, and it is. If it were that simple, I wouldn't be so annoyed. My GPS can be off by half a mile or more at times, and it's ridiculous.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-08-2018

DE

23 Signins

196 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-08-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 196
  • Message 238 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-26, 14:46 PM

Meredith, did you change the Location Mode or only observe if it's set to High Accuracy? It seems to me the trigger is set when switching the Mode in the mentioned sequence Device only->Battery saving->High accuracy once GPS had been turned off. Solely residing in High accuracy wouldn't pull that trigger then. And give it a few seconds in between the states, I used the previously mentioned 4 seconds and the procedure almost always succeeded.

Reply
Options

35 Posts

07-02-2018

GB

100 Signins

547 Page Views

  • Posts: 35
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2018
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 547
  • Message 239 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-26, 15:16 PM

You're absolutely correct there Beta64, that does seem to be the work-around.

If only Lenovo staff were as helpful as you!

Geoff.

Reply
Options

5 Posts

11-03-2018

DE

17 Signins

76 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎11-03-2018
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 76
  • Message 240 of 264

Re: G6 Plus GPS not working

2019-02-26, 15:23 PM

The problem is: We all know the workaround, but we can't know, when to use it. The GPS softly stops while using. So You either don't realize that it doesn't show You the way anymore or/and You have to start the workaround while driving. This is dangerous and (in Germany) forbidden! So it's inacceptable and can even take/cost Your life!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete