cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Akhi80
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-28-2018
Location: IN
Views: 5,134
Message 1 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6

Same issue with G6 and none of the steps helped. Devices are kept near to each other. What I can see is that DNS is not reachable from connected device

 

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 4,876
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 5,022
Message 2 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6 Plus


@Akhi80 wrote:

Same issue with G6 and none of the steps helped. Devices are kept near to each other. What I can see is that DNS is not reachable from connected device

 


Hi Akhi80,

 

Thank you for reporting and trying the above steps. May I know the device you are trying to connect with?

 

  • Have you tested in safe mode?
  • How are you able to see the DNS is not reachable?
  • From when are you facing this issue?
  • We might need bug reports and log files. 
  • Try performing reset network settings and let us know how it goes?

Please update your profile with the IMEI number of your phone? Is it okay if we look into your apps? This will help us investigate. Make sure that your Motorola Privacy is enabled.

If you need a reference in updating your profile, please click this link. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943

 

Thanks,

Swaraj

Moto Support

 

 

Akhi80
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-28-2018
Location: IN
Views: 5,018
Message 3 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6 Plus

I have a G6. After enabling hotspot I tried connecting from an iPhone as well as from a windows laptop.

In windows laptop I was able to test in command line and identify that DNS is not reachable.

My phone is new and I attempted to connect last week. It never worked.

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 4,876
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,977
Message 4 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6.


@Akhi80 wrote:

I have a G6. After enabling hotspot I tried connecting from an iPhone as well as from a windows laptop.

In windows laptop I was able to test in command line and identify that DNS is not reachable.

My phone is new and I attempted to connect last week. It never worked.


Hi Akhi80,

 

Thank for your information, may I know if you have tried connecting other smartphones via hotspot from your device, does that work? However, could you create an open hotspot (without security) and test?

 

Meanwhile, please update your profile with the IMEI number of your phone? Is it okay if we look into your apps? This will help us investigate. Make sure that your Motorola Privacy is enabled.

If you need a reference in updating your profile, please click this link. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943

 

Regards,

Swaraj

Moto Support

Akhi80
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-28-2018
Location: IN
Views: 4,935
Message 5 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6.

Hi,

 

When I put the sim to other phones and enable hotspot all the mentioned devices are able to connect (Tested both Andriod and Apple devices). But back to G6 the same is not working.

My IMEI number is updated in profile.

Tried without security also. Internet is not working. Whether with security or without security the issue is as below.

- Device gets connected and gets IP

- In browser we get message " DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN"

- In command line for nslookup command we get " Query refused" message.

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 4,876
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,923
Message 6 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6.

Hi Akhi80,

 

Thank you for the additional information. We want to look further into this, we have IMEI of your device, this can help us investigate and see what's causing the disconnect. Also, kindly send a bug report regarding this. Bug report will collect information about your current device state.

Here's how:


Note: Capture the report right after the issue happened.

1. Go to Settings -> About Phone -> Tap on Build number 7 times on the build number to go into the developer options mode]
2. After the above steps, Developer options will be enabled.
3. Go to Settings ->Developer options -> Enable USB debugging > Toggle On
4. Enable Settings -> Developer options -> Enable Bug Report shortcut > Toggle On
5. Enable Settings -> Developer options -> Enable Wi-Fi Verbose Logging > Toggle On
6. Once the issue is reproduced, Go to Settings -> Developer options -> Click on take bug report or Press Power button and then choose Bug Report from the Power down menu.
7. Wait for some time until the bug report is collected. It takes around 3 to 4 minutes to collect the Bug Report.
8. Then upload the Bug Report to your personal Google Drive and then share the link to the BugReport on the forums in a reply or via a private message.
9. Provide observations of what you saw happen right before the bug report was taken. Please indicate the time that you observed the behavior in local time.

 

Let us know if you have any questions?

 

Regards,

Swaraj

Moto Support

Josevarovsky
Punch Card
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎07-13-2017
Location: HK
Views: 4,915
Message 7 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6

I've got the same problem, hotspot setup normal, all other devices connected, but none of them get access to internet

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 4,876
Registered: ‎12-04-2017
Location: IN
Views: 4,897
Message 8 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6


@Josevarovsky wrote:

I've got the same problem, hotspot setup normal, all other devices connected, but none of them get access to internet


Hello Josevarovsky,

 

Thank you for reporting, just to narrow down could you confirm if we have an active internet connection on your device? Can we try performing 'reset network settings' and test your device in safe mode? To go into Safe Mode, press the physical power key, then press and hold the pop-up "Power off" key until the Safe Mode instructions pop up.

 

Let us know how it goes?

 

Thanks,

Swaraj

Moto Support

Nara5
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2018
Location: IN
Views: 4,828
Message 9 of 70

Re: Hotspot doesn't work on G6

I am also having the same issue hotspot is not working if this pbm is resolved, can u plz share the steps to resolve this issue on Moto g6

I tried to go on safemode and tested it's not worked

This seems to be same issue observed in motog5 plus also

Arjun405
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-04-2018
Location: IN
Views: 4,811
Message 10 of 70

Moto G6 hotspot not working

Hello , 

I have a Moto G6 and I am unable to connect to internet through internet says is connected , there is no issue with my PC Because same PC gets connected for Moto E2 hotspot.. kindly consider this issue on priority on resolve this..

Top Kudoed Authors