Motorola Community

Moto Z Phones - Mod CapableMoto Z² Force
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

01-17-2018

US

24 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 91
  • Message 1 of 92

Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-17, 13:35 PM

I just got the Oreo update a couple of days ago, and ever since, my phone has been randomly dropping the data signal in areas where the signal should be very strong...areas that my previous phones (Samsung S4 and LG V20) had never dropped the signal at all. I love this phone, but if this cannot be corrected, it will be going back. I'm on the road all day listening to music apps on my unlimited TMobile network, and can't deal with the random but fairly frequent buffering that never existed before on any phone I've owned. Is anyone else experiencing this, and does anyone have a fix?

 

Thanks!

Reply
Options

13138 Posts

02-02-2016

US

1405 Signins

8890 Page Views

  • Posts: 13138
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 8890
  • Message 2 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-17, 13:59 PM

Are you using the same sim card that was in your S4 and LG20? I had a LG20 and now use my Z2. I haven't had any issues with signal strength at all. In fact, I think it's stronger for me now with the Z2. You may need a new sim or call T-Mobile to make sure thier settings are correct on thier end. Let us know what happens.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-17-2018

US

24 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 91
  • Message 3 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-17, 14:47 PM
I am using the same SIM as was in the V20. I still have the new SIM that came with the Z2...I'll give that a shot and let you know if it helps. Thanks!
Reply
Options

4651 Posts

06-19-2010

US

101 Signins

1907 Page Views

  • Posts: 4651
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1907
  • Message 4 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-17, 16:59 PM

Might be a long shot, but do you have data limits turned on? It's kind of buried in menus now in Oreo.

 

settings -> Networks & Internet -> Data usage -> Mobile data usage, and select the gear in the upper right hand corner.

There is a place where you can set data limits and turn them off and on.

Might be worth a check.

 

Thank,

J

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-17-2018

US

24 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 91
  • Message 5 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-17, 17:16 PM

Good thought, but no. I have the mobile data limit warning set to 100tb so I won't be bothered by that since I have unlimited 4G LTE. The issue is intermittent...like when you hit a dead zone, except I'll be in an area that I know has strong 4G LTE coverage. Thanks for the suggestion!

Reply
Options

4651 Posts

06-19-2010

US

101 Signins

1907 Page Views

  • Posts: 4651
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 1907
  • Message 6 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-18, 13:05 PM

Hi!

 

I just wanted to check in and see if you had a chance to try out the SIM card that came with the phone? 

Let us know if you make any progress with this.

 

Thanks,

J

Reply
Options

10 Posts

01-17-2018

US

24 Signins

91 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 91
  • Message 7 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-18, 17:12 PM
I put the new card in yesterday afternoon, and have been on the road since 7 am eastern today. So far, it has buffered once for about 5 seconds. Other than that, no problems. I'm not quite ready to call the problem solved yet, but it's sure looking like that might have been the solution. I'll check back in a day or two and update. Thanks!
Reply
Options

13138 Posts

02-02-2016

US

1405 Signins

8890 Page Views

  • Posts: 13138
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 8890
  • Message 8 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-18, 17:34 PM

Fingers crossed... Hopefully that solves your problem. 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-18-2018

US

4 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-18-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 29
  • Message 9 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-18, 20:52 PM
Reply
Options

2 Posts

01-18-2018

US

4 Signins

29 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎01-18-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 29
  • Message 10 of 92

Re: Z2 Force dropping data signal

2018-01-18, 21:07 PM
I have the same problem after update to oreo. I clear cache, factory reset, even i try call tmobile ask them to reset network setting. Still same. I think motorola software department need to fix this fast. I drive with uber and this realy bad for me.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save