Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto Z Phones - Mod CapableMoto Z Force
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

12-10-2016

United States of America

14 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-10-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 107
  • Message 1 of 78

CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-23, 1:47 AM

I was wondering if there has been any update on why only two of the cores are showing clock speed and the other two are showing stopped. Even when the phones limits are pushed. 

Reply
Answer
Options

20127 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2604 Signins

65398 Page Views

  • Posts: 20127
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 65398

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2017-01-05, 17:34 PM

Okay, some good news.

 

We have carefully investigated the reports of Motorola phones on Android Nougat "not using all CPUs.” We are able to confirm that all cores are working properly.  All of the cores are actually being used and their maximum clocks have not changed with Android N. This is evident when running standard CPU benchmark tests (like Antutu).

 

The issue that has prompted the reports stems from 3rd party apps giving the impression of “not using all CPUs” because they fail to get correct information from the phones.  The cause of this failure is due to stricter security policies introduced in Android Nougat.  We are working on a software improvement to allow CPU identification apps to gather correct information about CPU status and frequencies. 

 

We're committed to delivering the best possible performance available for our hardware, and all our devices are benchmarked internally on regular basis, both for new product releases and upgrades. All upgrades are required to meet or exceed reference design performance before they are released. While it’s unfortunate that the app readings are incorrect, we’re glad the phones are working properly. 

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply

Replies(77)
Options

28352 Posts

02-02-2016

United States of America

5842 Signins

132780 Page Views

  • Posts: 28352
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 132780
  • Message 2 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-23, 4:06 AM

wrote:

I was wondering if there has been any update on why only two of the cores are showing clock speed and the other two are showing stopped. Even when the phones limits are pushed. 


Is there another thread on this? Update implies this is a known/reported issue, but i dont remember seeing this before. 

 

If it is an existing issue, please post in the existing thread. 


* Search box is your friend * I don't respond to PM if question belongs in forum
Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-26-2015

United States

22 Signins

156 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2015
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 156
  • Message 3 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-23, 19:48 PM

After update on Nougat Moto Z Force started laggy

most likely due to the fact that the two cores disabled...

 

After reboot worked all core and smartphone very quickly.

After some time, two cores are switched off again

 

 

Reply
Options

54 Posts

02-24-2013

United States of America

155 Signins

1656 Page Views

  • Posts: 54
  • Registered: ‎02-24-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1656
  • Message 4 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-23, 22:26 PM

Interesting I downloaded CPU Z  just to take a look. Same thing here 2 cores are stopped.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-24-2016

Brazil

2 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-24-2016
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 11
  • Message 5 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-27, 14:03 PM

I have a Moto Maxx XT1225 (= Droid Turbo 1) and I realized that sometimes I also have 2 CPU stopped, especially when the battery is about 35 percent.

 

I found out that if I charge the battery for a while, one or two CPU turn on again, depending on the battery percentage.

 

Maybe it is normal guys... Although I have noticed some lag when the two CPU are stopped, it could be a mechanism to save battery power (despite we did not activate the economic mode).

 

Please let me know what you found out.

 

Tks,

 

Saulo

Reply
Options

5 Posts

12-29-2016

Brazil

38 Signins

236 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-29-2016
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 236
  • Message 6 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-29, 0:35 AM

In any battery percentage 2 of my cores are always stopped. If I reboot the phone, the issue disappears for a few minutes until it happens again. Even if I run benchmarks the problem is still there.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-10-2016

United States of America

14 Signins

107 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-10-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 107
  • Message 7 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-29, 3:21 AM

I've also noticed the two cores are running at a higher rate which would also effect battery life and temperature. 

Reply
Options

219 Posts

08-26-2013

United States of America

318 Signins

3452 Page Views

  • Posts: 219
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3452
  • Message 8 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-29, 16:14 PM

Fully charged batteries or discharged at various stages does not seem to make any changes to mine.  Every time I have checked using CPU Z mine showed only two active and two stopped.  I stopped and restarted the phone and all four were active.  About 19 minutes and once again two are stopped. 

It's likely that this is related to conserving power and the cores are turned off when not needed but I don't have time or patience to load the cpu and check it out. 

Robert Turnage
Reply
Options

219 Posts

08-26-2013

United States of America

318 Signins

3452 Page Views

  • Posts: 219
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3452
  • Message 9 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-29, 16:16 PM
Robert Turnage
Reply
Options

219 Posts

08-26-2013

United States of America

318 Signins

3452 Page Views

  • Posts: 219
  • Registered: ‎08-26-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3452
  • Message 10 of 78

Re: CPU's Stopped?!?

2016-12-29, 16:17 PM
Robert Turnage
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms