cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
PhG-2018
Punch Card
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-15-2018
Location: DE
Views: 900
Message 21 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

I´m back to my Moto Z, couldn´t stand the Z2 Play any longer.

Biji_moto
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎08-01-2017
Location: ID
Views: 848
Message 22 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

I speak too soon, after one week proximity not working again, when i press top of screen become normal again. I have repaired this to AUTHORIZED service center 3 times!

I think this is design flaw, not recommended buying this phone

 

Gutte42
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-01-2018
Location: SE
Views: 839
Message 23 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

You're correct, it's a design flaw. They couldn't repair mine in two attempts and I demanded and got a new one.

Dtell
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2018
Location: US
Views: 592
Message 24 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

I have figured out the problem on the proximity sensor. I was going over my phone and found out that the glue for the screen in the top right corner has lost it's adhesion. Whenever I press down on that part of the screen all functions work as they should on my phone.

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 3,589
Registered: ‎03-05-2018
Location: US
Views: 552
Message 25 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

Hi Dtell,

 

Thanks for sharing. It looks like a hardware issue already. I can only picture this out on my mind. It looks like the screen was peeled off from the body. If so, I would suggest sending the phone for repair. You can check the warranty options on this link. Thanks.

 

Best regards,
Rich
Motorola Support

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 5,150
Registered: ‎07-12-2014
Location: US
Views: 385
Message 26 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

Hi guys. If you haven't yet, would you please update your profile with the IMEI number of your phone and your carrier? Is it okay if we look into your apps? This will help us investigate. Make sure that your Motorola Privacy is enabled.

If you need a reference in updating your profile, please click this link. https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Complete-your-forums-profile/td-p/3339943

Regards,
JM
Motorola Support

**Please don't ask me questions by Personal Message; questions belong in the forums.

TSB
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2018
Location: US
Views: 203
Message 27 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

I have had this situation happening too. I troubleshot everything.

I found that the issue is not the phone, its the screen protector.

I recently bought an after market screen protector that was meant to be specifically for my Moto Z2 Play.

It fitted perfectly and all hopes we're perfectly in line with the camera etc.

But my phone went black as soon as I made a call or received one. Also, my flashlight didn't work when I "chopped' my hand.

When I removed the prtectopr everything works perfectly. I tried tefittire the protector many time with slight variations, to no avail.

Conclusion: certain screen protectors block the sensors of the phone.

Try removing your protector and see if it works corrrctky.

Good luck

 

 

Mrbuffles
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
Location: India
Views: 91
Message 28 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

Still no resolution?

I've had the problem intermittently since I got the Moto Z2. 

Maybe Facebook has a Shame Campaign I can join.

Senior MotoAgent
Senior MotoAgent
Posts: 3,589
Registered: ‎03-05-2018
Location: US
Views: 68
Message 29 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

Hi Mrbuffles,

 

Thanks for posting. I'd like to help. Can you tell us more about your issue as well as the troubleshooting steps you've done and tried so far? Thanks.

 

Best regards,
Rich
Motorola Support

Highlighted
Mrbuffles
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
Location: India
Views: 64
Message 30 of 35

Re: Moto Z2 Play proximity sensor

Oh, hi, sure..

My issue is intermittent. Occasionally I get the black screen of inconvenience when I answer a call. Sometimes when making a call. It started happening about a year after I got it. It first happened while I was driving and I thought it was a safety feature. Not allowing phone calls while driving. ? I've tried to find a solution online but I don't have the same tools or settings as those who post the fixes.

Top Kudoed Authors