Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
dwerkmd
Blue Screen Again
Views: 1,275
Message 1 of 6

Physical QWERTY capable?

I know this thing was just announced but please return to me my physical keyboard. I've been using a touch screen for a couple years after my droid 4 went dead and I'm still frustrated with it.

bmccrary
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,190
Message 2 of 6

Re: Physical QWERTY capable?

I posted the same question a few weeks ago when I first saw the modular design of the Z.  I'm still running my Photon Q with CM13 but have gone through a lot of hardware bits in the past year to keep it going.  I would really love to see this become a reality!  If we can get enough support maybe Lenovo will listen to us!  I would think the demand would be more so than, say, the speaker module, but maybe I'm wrong.  The only issue I really see would be what to do with the hole that these modules apparantely have to have for the camera to pass through.  Maybe just put another camera on the keyboard module or require the keyboard to be slid out when taking pictures, which I wouldn't mind.  Or just design the keyboard around the hole.  I know a "homebuilt" one was made for Jolla's phone with the help of a 3D printer and a kickstarter campaign.

ryzilla
HDMI
Views: 1,139
Message 3 of 6

It's up to some company to make one. 

bmccrary
Fanfold Paper
Views: 853
Message 4 of 6

I know this is an old thread but I just saw this from a Network World article "How Moto Mods went from concept to product." Paul Fordham, lead mechanical architect on the Moto Mods design team says: "We built a battery module that had a full QWERTY keyboard inside. I could show it to you; it's almost like a slider type concept for people who like the tactile feel of a real keyboard. We had all these different ideas that we hadn't even partly developed."