Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto Z Phones - Mod CapableMoto Z3 Play
All Forum Topics
Options

15 Posts

12-13-2018

United States of America

91 Signins

639 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 639
  • Message 21 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-23, 19:18 PM

I and others have waited 3 months for this to be resolved! Unfortunately, it has not been and I couldn’t wait any longer!!! Yesterday I purchased an Unlocked Samsung Note 9 as a replacement from Best Buy. They were having a big sale and I received $500 off! Now to get rid of this useless brick and its accessories!!! I will keep following this tread for updates.

Reply
Options

36 Posts

07-18-2014

United States of America

15 Signins

153 Page Views

  • Posts: 36
  • Registered: ‎07-18-2014
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 153
  • Message 22 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-23, 21:30 PM

Its funny before I switched to the pixel 3xl I thought sprint had terrible service. Since switching to an actually compatible phone. The service is actually really good.

 

It's a bit said though I had 9 moto phones over the years and they just aren't cutting it any more. The updates are key and they just don't update. 

Reply
Options

84 Posts

12-12-2018

United States of America

491 Signins

3912 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3912
  • Message 23 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-24, 3:34 AM

I too have run in to this "Invalid SIM card" issue; I found a quick workaround, but it's not the best as now my phone only connects to 3G. 

Reply
Options

15 Posts

12-13-2018

United States of America

91 Signins

639 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 639
  • Message 24 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-24, 4:11 AM

Yeah, I did the 3G for long enough! 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-25-2018

United States of America

8 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-25-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 25 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-25, 23:35 PM

Mine and my husband's phones are popping up with "invalid sim card". Sprint has replaced the sim card and they say it is manufacturer problem. Seems we wasted a lot of money for these phones! Motorola needs to do the right thing and refund or replace these phones!

Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-25-2018

United States of America

8 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-25-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 63
  • Message 26 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-25, 23:37 PM
When is this going to be fixed?
Reply
Options

5 Posts

12-26-2018

United States of America

41 Signins

733 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 733
  • Message 27 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-26, 1:38 AM

 wrote:

Note: In the Moto G6 forum I noticed someone had the same issue on Sprint.

 

Currently I am on Sprint with my unlocked 64gb Z3 Play.  I am experiencing random "Invalid SIM card" messages where the network drops (LTE or LTE+ dissapears, the bar strength indicator becomes white/empty). 

This happens consistently in locations where there is a bad/fading signal.

Unfortunately, it also happens in some strong signal areas.  This is in metro Houston.  It happens while driving but also while walking.

I have a Sprint branded Z2 Force in my other pocket that has never experienced these issues.

 

Is this an issue with Sprint or with Motorola?  Please advise who to follow up with.

 

 


I have this exact same issue, but itonly seems to happen when my hotspot is running, but to be fair that is generally only while I am driving. So maybe it is that have to do with the moving around. I'm also in the center of Houston my signal bars consistently show LTE+. 

 

Inside of some of the hidden menus I can see that there are 4 bands the device attempts to connect to. 12, 25, 26, and 41.  I'm going to disable band 12 for now and see if this issue persists. 

Reply
Options

84 Posts

12-12-2018

United States of America

491 Signins

3912 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3912
  • Message 28 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-26, 1:52 AM

My issue occurs AT HOME! I even have a Magic Box rocking Band 41 24/7! It(my phone, not the Magic Box) cut out back on Sunday and I have been on 3G ever since(there is a secret radio band menu accessible via SignalCheck Pro; Sprint has the default radio band set on "LTE/CDMA/UMTS(PRL)". This then leads to your signal to completely cut out and thus, that crazy full bars/no bars issue occurs every 2 seconds. SO the only way I can get the phone to connect to a tower for voice & data is to switch it to either "CDMA Only(PRL)" or "EVDO only'"). 

Reply
Options

5 Posts

12-26-2018

United States of America

41 Signins

733 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 733
  • Message 29 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-26, 2:05 AM
Have you tried disabling specific bands, rather than just adjusting band mode? And have you tried "LTE only" .
Reply
Options

84 Posts

12-12-2018

United States of America

491 Signins

3912 Page Views

  • Posts: 84
  • Registered: ‎12-12-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 3912
  • Message 30 of 90

Re: Unlocked Z3 Play on Sprint - random "Invalid SIM Card" disconnects?

2018-12-26, 2:14 AM
I have tried "LTE Only to no avail(that was the first one I tried.

As for disabling specific bands, I opted not to...and I'll tell you why!

Because of the pending T-Mobile merger and despite whether it goes through or not, there is a deal in place for Sprint users to roam on T-Mobile towers(it comes up as a "Clearwire PLMN" so it doesn't count toward your data roaming usage at all). Before losing LTE service issue my phone was able to roam on T-Mobile's Band 71(600 Mhz) AND it was roaming on Bands 2, 4, and 12 before going back to Sprint's 25/26/41. I guess I would try and disable AT&T Band 14, but I have also roamed on AT&T's Band 2 & 4 in the recent past.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms