Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

Motorola Community

Moto Z Phones - Mod CapableMoto Z4
All Forum Topics
Options

38 Posts

07-12-2017

United States of America

65 Signins

337 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 337
  • Message 1 of 12

What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-17, 17:52 PM

For some reason twice in the last week, my home screen has moved to the far right position and I can't find an easy way to get it back to where it belongs. 

 

This has to be an easy fix, right?

Reply
Answer
Options

20039 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2557 Signins

64538 Page Views

  • Posts: 20039
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 64538

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-21, 15:59 PM

 wrote:
I think we are getting close but the weather widget didn't disappear, it moved two screens to the right of where it was.

Aha! :D

 

So, I am going to assume that somehow, either due to accident or a glitch, the Weather/Clock widget was moved off the home page. This leaves a vacumn there, and you know how Android feels about a vacumn. The entire "second page" gets promoted, and you can't swap pages. 

 

The best way to avoid this is to not have only one widget or icon on the home page. That gives you some protection; if one accidentially gets moved, you still have a "placeholder" keeping your home page in place and preventing a promotion of the next page.

 

FWIW, I have seen that big Clock widget move off the home page myself from time to time. I don't know why/how it happens -- did I do it accidentially or did something happen with the OS that moved it? Impossible to say, though I suspect it was me accidentially dragging it when I went to put my phone in my pocket without turning off the screen or something.

 

- Matt

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply

Replies(11)
Options

3764 Posts

04-04-2013

United States of America

2725 Signins

25655 Page Views

  • Posts: 3764
  • Registered: ‎04-04-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 25655
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-17, 23:29 PM

In the Home screen Settings menu, do you have Add Apps To Homescreen enabled?  That's the only thing that comes to mind that nights cause this.

~Scott
Reply
Options

38 Posts

07-12-2017

United States of America

65 Signins

337 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 337
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-18, 2:12 AM
Yes, I do have that enabled. I turned it off and restarted the phone.
No change.
So I turned it back on and restarted the phone.
No change.
It is a major hassle to move all of my apps to another screen knowing it can happen again.
Reply
Options

38 Posts

07-12-2017

United States of America

65 Signins

337 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 337
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-18, 21:02 PM
WOW!

Is there a prize for stumping the experts?

I am going to rearrange the screen (the hard way) one more time. If it happens again I will just live with it.

BTW, when this happend twice I was pulling the phone out of my pocket and must have touched it somewhere that caused the screen position change.
Reply
Options

20039 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2557 Signins

64538 Page Views

  • Posts: 20039
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 64538
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-19, 15:29 PM

 wrote:
WOW!

Is there a prize for stumping the experts?

I am going to rearrange the screen (the hard way) one more time. If it happens again I will just live with it.

BTW, when this happend twice I was pulling the phone out of my pocket and must have touched it somewhere that caused the screen position change.

Hi.

 

I'm not sure I understand what's happening. Can you post a video or screenshots that illustrate?

 

Are you using the standard Google launcher?

 

Thanks,

 

- Matt

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply
Options

38 Posts

07-12-2017

United States of America

65 Signins

337 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 337
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-19, 20:55 PM

This used to be my home screen when I pushed the HOME button.

 

Now, this is my home screen when I push the HOME button.

 

The screens switched places.

 

Reply
Options

20039 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2557 Signins

64538 Page Views

  • Posts: 20039
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 64538
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-20, 13:02 PM

 wrote:

This used to be my home screen when I pushed the HOME button.

 

Now, this is my home screen when I push the HOME button.

 

The screens switched places.

 


Thanks, that's helpful.

 

When this happens, is your clock widget still there, somewhere? Is it on the screen to the right now?

 

- Matt

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply
Options

20039 Posts

02-03-2016

United States of America

2557 Signins

64538 Page Views

  • Posts: 20039
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 64538
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-20, 13:05 PM

 wrote:

This used to be my home screen when I pushed the HOME button.

 

Now, this is my home screen when I push the HOME button.

 

The screens switched places.

 


Thanks, that's helpful.

 

When this happens, is your clock widget still there, somewhere? Is it on the screen to the right now?

 

- Matt

Please do not PM me - if you have issues, search the forums for threads on your topic and post there, or start a new thread. Thanks!
Reply
Options

3764 Posts

04-04-2013

United States of America

2725 Signins

25655 Page Views

  • Posts: 3764
  • Registered: ‎04-04-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 25655
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-20, 13:45 PM

I cannot find a way to rearrange Home screens manually, even if you wanted to on the current Launcher.

 

Since the Time & Weather Widget is the only thing on that first pic you posted is it possible that when pulling the phone from your pocket, you unlocked the screen and accidenatally slid the Time & Weather Widget off the screen?  Which would delete that screen since it was empty at that point, and reassign the next screen as the new Home screen?  My wie did that once and wondered where her Home screen went, you can easily slide that widget off by accident and remove that screen.  What if you add one app icon to the Home screen along with the Time & Weather Widget?  That way if you do accidentally remove the widget there will be one app icon on the Home screen and it will not be empty, so Android will not remove that as yout current Home scrren.

 

~Scott
Reply
Options

38 Posts

07-12-2017

United States of America

65 Signins

337 Page Views

  • Posts: 38
  • Registered: ‎07-12-2017
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 337
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: What am I doing wrong?

2019-08-20, 21:16 PM
I think we are getting close but the weather widget didn't disappear, it moved two screens to the right of where it was.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms