cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Kstepan
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
Location: United States
Views: 2,096
Message 1 of 8

Motocast wireless install error

I have been trying to install motocast wireless for a few days and cant figure it out.  When it gets to seting it up, it says that there is no internet connection, but I do have internet on the comuter.  I have tured off my firewall and virus (AVG) but still no go.  Anyone else had this problem or maybe suggestions.  thanks

marmarinou
802.11n
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎07-09-2010
Location: United States
Views: 2,096
Message 2 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

Kstepan:


Which internet browser do you use?  MotoCast uses Internet Explorer, so IE needs to be able to connect.

Lhommevert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 2,096
Message 3 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

Having the same problem. Set Internet explorer as default browser, all other connections are working.


Tried with pc wide open to the net. No avail, motocast wireless setup just doesn't see the internet connection.


Love the Razr XT910 though. Just wish wireless cast would work. Wondering what ports the software uses.


Could it be they get blocked somehow in my router?

ca_n
WWAN
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Location: United States
Views: 2,096
Message 4 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

Can you check the privacy settings in your IE, change it to the lowest settings if possible and try setup again:





  1. Click the Tools button, and then click Internet Options.




  2. Click the Privacy tab.




Let me know how this goes.


 



Lhommevert said:

Having the same problem. Set Internet explorer as default browser, all other connections are working.


Tried with pc wide open to the net. No avail, motocast wireless setup just doesn't see the internet connection.


Love the Razr XT910 though. Just wish wireless cast would work. Wondering what ports the software uses.


Could it be they get blocked somehow in my router?



 



Lhommevert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 2,096
Message 5 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

@ ca.n


Thanks for the reply.


Tried your suggestion in IE and also in Control Panel>>Internet options.


Made no difference. Then tried to plug my pc directly into the cable modem. Still no-go, since motocast runs in java I also updated to the latest version. Updated the certificates for secure sites (Java prompted me to do so) after all that, still exactly the same results.


My bag of tricks is just about empty here, I got a couple of pc's running all the same OS though > WinXP pro SP3. So I just might try a different one to see if it does the same thing.


Meantime, If you have any more suggestions I'll be happy to give 'em a try.

ca_n
WWAN
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Location: United States
Views: 2,096
Message 6 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

Do you think we can set up a goto meeting session? If so, I'll send you a private message on how to do so.  Thanks.

Kstepan
What's DOS?
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
Location: United States
Views: 2,096
Message 7 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

In another Discussion ca.n mentioned this


 





Can you try following:


 


-If it's installed now, go ahead and uninstall MotoCast (control panel -> uninstall programs)


-While in there, please also uninstall all versions of java.  


-Restart your computer.


-Go to www.java.com and install the latest version


-Go to www.mymotocast.com/download and install the latest version


 


Let me know if you're able to setup MotoCast Wireless after this.


 


I did it exactly in this order and it WORKED!!!  Don't know if you tried it already but might be worth a shot.




Lhommevert
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Location: Canada
Views: 2,096
Message 8 of 8

Re: Motocast wireless install error

@ca.n @Kstepan


Yup!


That was it.


Thanks people :-)


You've been very kind. It's much appreciated.


Weird that java sends out automatic updates to the latest version. While on their website they explicitly say NOT to update.


Anyway. The motocast connection runs like clockwork.


thanks again.


I think I'll stick around the forums for a bit.