cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
jaybeat
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-10-2019
Location: FR
Views: 2,921
Message 301 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

Looks like the latest bios update does the job for me. Not in all cases but I just need to retry if it does not.

jnWibble
Punch Card
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-27-2018
Location: GB
Views: 2,915
Message 302 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

That's really not clear. Please clarify. Which BIOS update? Not in all cases - what, not in all situations on your computer? What sort of retrying?

jaybeat
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-10-2019
Location: FR
Views: 2,819
Message 303 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

The latest version of the bios available, I don't remember the exact version.
The suspend mode does not works in all cases but a retry usually do the trick.
zaphot
SCSI Port
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2018
Location: DE
Views: 2,712
Message 304 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

@jnWibble for me the kernel supplied by AaronMa (canonical kernel dev) https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1791427/comments/94 is working for me and both my trackpoint and touchpad have now survived 50 suspend/resumes

Multiple things are probably neccessary that his changes work:

- update the trackpoint AND the touchpad firmware (you need windows for this) and most probably also update to the newest bios version
- ensure that the i2c-i801 module is loaded and not blacklisted in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf and is loaded: cat /proc/modules | grep i2c_i801

Note that the tap-to-click-not-working bug is libinput related and fixed in newer version (https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/libinput/libinput/issues/46), one can grab the cosmic version and install it in bionic

If this is not working for you, please follow the description of AaronMa and provide log files. This is the chance to get this problem fixed!

jnWibble
Punch Card
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-27-2018
Location: GB
Views: 2,660
Message 305 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

Zaphot, thank you.

 

I have supplied logs to the developer. He suspects that there is something wrong - well, you know, more wrong than usual with Lenovo - with my hardware.

 

I am doing the right think by the 12c module, though I did not know that command for checking that it is loaded - I will try that.

 

The problem with the firmware updates is that, as I have explained on the other thread, I cannot find a way of installing them, at least without dual-booting Windows or temporarily installing Windows as my sole operating system. I really do not fancy doing either of those things. Windows Pre-boot environment did not work. Imagine if I do wipe my OS, install Windows, reinstall Linux, and find that my hardware really was the problem. Also, with UEFI partitions and what not, these days restoring a disk is as easy as it used to be.

jinming868
Punch Card
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-27-2018
Location: CN
Views: 2,566
Message 306 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

how to feedback developer? my x1 y3 need s3 mode too...

javanna
Paper Tape
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2018
Location: NL
Views: 437
Message 307 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

Any of you having problems with the newer kernel 5? Standby no longer works for me since I got that update.

jnWibble
Punch Card
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-27-2018
Location: GB
Views: 403
Message 308 of 308

Re: X1 Carbon Gen 6 cannot enter deep sleep (S3 state aka Suspend-to-RAM) on Linux

I have no problem suspend on 5.1 and 5.2 kernels. However, that is with sleep state S0; I have given up on S3 sleep. My model has the NFC chip. That may be why S3 still does not work. There is a report (see the current end of this thread) that the seventh generation X1 - I don't know whether or not with the NFC chip - has the same problem.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors