Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Linux Operating SystemsOther Linux Discussions
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

10-30-2009

Philadelphia

156 Signins

443 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-30-2009
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Views: 443
  • Message 21 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-03, 3:00 AM

Awesome. No problem, I can see how you would have assumed that you have to be root, the post wasn't really that clear about that. Did you try the microphone?

Reply
Options

13 Posts

05-14-2009

USA

19 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 106
  • Message 22 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-03, 14:24 PM

The microphone works great as well.

 

Also something I just noticed, in dsides post he said

 

 

sudo setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B="20" The 20 means it's at 20% brightness. It goes from 1-FF, FF being 100% brightness.

 Your script appears to only go up to 99, but I can't get to the FF full brightness level with the brightness keys.  Is there any way to add FF to the script?

 

 

 

 

Another question, has anyone been able to get two finger scrolling working on a y450 with Ubuntu 9.10?  I have set the option under System, Preferenences, Mouse, Touchpad, Scrolling (Two Finger Scrolling), but it does not work.  I've rebooted/restarted X numerous times with no luck.  Any ideas?  I really love using two finger scrolling.

Reply
Options

17 Posts

10-25-2009

Canada

41 Signins

273 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎10-25-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 273
  • Message 23 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-04, 17:55 PM

On the microphone question (and no, I've not yet had time to test it, downloaded it this morning, will test it tonight) did you do anything with PulseAudio? I see it's an Alsa backport that has been added?

 

Will play some more tonight, sorry I'm pretty much a newb when it comes to Linux, had to lookup what a backport even was!

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-30-2009

Philadelphia

156 Signins

443 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-30-2009
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Views: 443
  • Message 24 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-04, 20:44 PM

I didn't have to do anything in PulseAudio. If you have to do anytnig it might be to choose the input source, unmute it and mabye tweak the level to your liking (System>Preferences>Sound>Input tab).

 

About brightness. I think 99 is the highest. If you use dsides command or just type set_brightness 100 you'll see that 100 is not a valid value. Also, you can set the brightness to zero which makes the full range 100 wide, which kind of makes sense. The only thing I don't like is that the hotkeys adjust the birghness in steps of 10 but it's not too bad.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

05-14-2009

USA

19 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 106
  • Message 25 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-04, 22:29 PM

Try this, it will bump your brightness up one more notch above 99.  FF is a valid value.  There must be some way to integrate FF into the script.

sudo setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B="FF"
Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-30-2009

Philadelphia

156 Signins

443 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-30-2009
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Views: 443
  • Message 26 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-05, 3:20 AM

jaba, you are right, the values that setpci takes are hex. I just assumed they were decimal since the acpi ones were decimal (went from 0 to 100). I started writing a better script that will have finer grained steps of brightness and would cover the full range from 0 to 255 (FF) but I am to busy to finish it today. I'll post it as soon as I am done.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

05-14-2009

USA

19 Signins

106 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎05-14-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 106
  • Message 27 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-05, 3:56 AM

Thank you for all of your hard work, I and many others appreciate it :)

Reply
Options

17 Posts

10-25-2009

Canada

41 Signins

273 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎10-25-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 273
  • Message 28 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-05, 4:35 AM

If you get a chance, I'd love to see what your alsamixer (I'm assuming that's where your setting up your mic) settings are?

 

I've tried clicking around, choosing between the various capture sources, turning things on and off, turning on and off boost, can't for the life of me get the mic to work (and when I say work, I mean record anything other than a hiss in sound recorder). I'm also not sure what pulseaudio settings to use, currently I have microphone 1 as the input, but don't know what the difference is between that and microphone 2?

Reply
Options

25 Posts

10-05-2009

us

42 Signins

582 Page Views

  • Posts: 25
  • Registered: ‎10-05-2009
  • Location: us
  • Views: 582
  • Message 29 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-05, 5:02 AM

I've been busy lately and haven't been checking these forums. The problem with my sound is the speakers are unplugged internally. I can see the cable is unplugged by taking off the memory lid. My 3.5mm jack works perfectly. I was going to create a script for the brightness but haven't found the time. I'm going to try it out tonight. Thanks a lot.

 

I'm glad more people are running Ubuntu. I get the same amount of battery life in Win 7 and 9.10. Ubuntu runs better and looks better than win 7. Don't get me wrong, windows 7 is a pretty nice OS but I can customize Ubuntu exactly how I want it. 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

10-30-2009

Philadelphia

156 Signins

443 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎10-30-2009
  • Location: Philadelphia
  • Views: 443
  • Message 30 of 54

Re: Y450 linux?

2009-11-05, 9:05 AM

Hi guys, I'm glad you are finding these scripts usefull. I updated the new script: http://elektropionir.net/2009/11/05/new-and-improved-ideapad-script-now-with-more-brightness . It now uses the full 1 to FF range and has an customizable step for the brightness change.

 

Arla, I posted screenshots of my alsamixer screens here:

 

http://elektropionir.net/files/alsa_playback.png

http://elektropionir.net/files/alsa_input.png

 

This is how I got the mic to work. I tried installling oss and in the process hosed the pulseaudio and alsa install. I did not remember which pacakges I took out so I just did a search in aptitude for pulseaudio and alsa and just installed packages that seemed like they would be needed. This restored pulseaudio+alsa but it also made the mic work. I then removed packages that seemed spurious until the mic stopped working. The package that broke it was that backport I posted earlier which is also installed in the brightness script. Maybe it wasn't that package after all or it might be that I installed some other package that is also needed.

 

I haven't had any of the problems people are reporting with 9.10. I had bad problems with Hardy (which might have been Firefox related) on my desktops earlier but 9.10 on the IdeaPad has been really nice. I turned on more of the compiz glitz and my Karmic install is pretty awesome now.

The only leftover issue I have with my setup is that sometimes the keyboard becomes unresponsive and I have to start the keyboard setup admin app which then re-enables it. Has anyone experienced this?

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms