Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

27 Posts

04-09-2011

UK

177 Signins

311 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2011
  • Location: UK
  • Views: 311
  • Message 141 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-04-10, 8:14 AM

Does anyone have a fix for O2 UK PAYG (I'm using a grandfathered unlimited-data iPhone SIM, not sure if that makes any difference)?

Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-29-2010

UK / Belgium

634 Signins

1056 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2010
  • Location: UK / Belgium
  • Views: 1056
  • Message 142 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-04-11, 8:43 AM

^^^^^

Looking for the same, with the same sim card too on a Gobi2000

Thanks

Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-12-2011

Australia

48 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-12-2011
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 94
  • Message 143 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-04-12, 12:52 PM

OPTUS SMS Fix for Australian Users

 

There appears to be a few people still looking for a solution to this issue with Optus mobile broadband so I'll attempt to put up a solution to this problem specific to the Australian Optus service provider.  Many of you may have experienced the same frustration as I when you upgraded to a machine with integrated mobile broadband knowing that the same SIM was SMS enabled and functioning correctly in your older plug in and go mobile broadband device.

 

These instructions are specific to 64 bit Windows 7 installations and other operating systems may have different locations.

There are two files that Access Connections is using to load it's Optus configuration from that can be found in the following directory:

    C:\<Program Files (x86)\Lenovo\Access Connections

 

Warning #1:  Before I go any further can I insist that if you’re going to attempt to tweak these configuration files can you please make backups of them first so in the event of an error occurring you can revert your configuration back to last known good (albeit without SMS) working state.

 

The two configuration (config) files are as follows:

    Sierra_profiles.xml

    AC_wanprofiles.xml

 

Now, whilst only one of these files requires an update I'm stating the error is in these two files because the settings exist for Optus Australia in one file and not the other which is kind of the problem and very easily fixed –hint, hint Lenovo :smileywink:  ...and I know what you're going to say but I'd suggest you LEAN on the people that you're buying this hardware from cause they're doing quite well from the whole deal assuming this is their hardware's config.  If this IS your software's config then how about you help all the nice people out by getting them a fix so they don't need to update XML files directly.  I updated my software last night and I've had my maching for some time now, just haven't been annoyed enough to resolve this until this evening.

 

Anyway, the resolution to the problem is to create a matching/missing profile entry in the AC_wanprofiles.xml and you should be in business.

 

Warning #2: Please follow the following steps closely and if you encounter difficulties replace the modified configuration files with the backup files you made before you started.  The files you are updating are XML files and the entries you create must be precise in some cases or this tweak won’t work.  A good example of this is the following:

    <Mcnc>505002</Mcnc> is wrong and won’t work!

    <mcnc>505002</mcnc> is correct!

Please note the subtle differences.

 

1)  If you haven’t backed up the two aforementioned config files please do so now - sorry I know I’m being a difficult but if you make a mistake this will save you a lot of time and pain.

 

2)  Open the Sierra_profiles.xml config file in a text editor like Notepad or Textpad (even better) and locate the profile for Optus Australia.  We’re just going to confirm a setting in this file and not make any.  The Optus Australia profile will look like the following:

    <profile>
      <id />
      <editable>true</editable>
      <locked>false</locked>
      <mcnc>505002</mcnc>
      <setting>
        <type>name</type>
        <value>Optus Australia</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>apn</type>
        <value>connect</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>dns1</type>
        <value>0.0.0.0</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>dns2</type>
        <value>0.0.0.0</value>
      </setting>
    </profile>  

 

3)  Now the setting we want to note is the setting for mcnc ‘tag’ which is the 505002 bit in the following:

<mcnc>505002</mcnc>

 

It’s important to note this because your value may be different to mine for what every reason.

 

4)  Now open up the AC_wanprofiles.xml config file and you need to create a new profile for the mcnc you’ve identified above.  Start this by finding and entry for the following mcnc 505001 (which identifies Telstra) and at the end of this profile we will create our new profile.  The end of the Telstra profile is identified by the following tag:

</profile>

 

5)  Now the next line in the file is follows and this identifies the start of the next profile so we want to insert out new profile between the tag above and this next tag:

<profile>

 

6)  So what we want to insert into the AC_wanprofiles.xml config file is as follows:

    <profile>
        <mcnc>505002</mcnc>
        <carrierid>20</carrierid>
        <SMSSupport>true</SMSSupport>
        <editable>true</editable>
        <locked>false</locked>
        <country>Australia</country>
        <nwprovider>Optus Australia</nwprovider>
        <setting>
            <type>name</type>
            <value>Optus Australia</value>
        </setting>
        <setting>
            <type>apn</type>
            <value>connect</value>
        </setting>
        <setting>
            <type>authtype</type>
            <value>PAP</value>
        </setting>
        <setting>
            <type>dns1</type>
            <value>0.0.0.0</value>
        </setting>
        <setting>
            <type>dns2</type>
            <value>0.0.0.0</value>
        </setting>
    </profile>

 

Note the mcnc tag has a value that matches the value we noted in step 3).  If this is not the setting you identified at step 3) please update the value for this tag appropriately.  This is what makes it all hang together  :smileyvery-happy:

 

Make sure this new profile is surrounded as I described above between a <profile> tag and a </profile> tag.  This is very important and failing to do so will corrupt the file.

 

Note: <carrierid>20</carrierid> is incorrect as this is Telstra but this actually works and I could not find a entry for Optus elsewhere.  I will endeavour to keep an eye on this config for updates and update this thread accordingly if an update isn't forthcoming.

 

7)  All good?  If so you need to restart Access Connections so it reloads the updated configuration.  The simplest way to do this is to reboot you PC.

 

8) You should have a new Launch SMS... option if you right-click the Access Connections power meter in the Windows task bar and a new SMS option availible via the Access Connections Tools tab.

 

 

Now the process that I've followed here should be portable to other providers if you can find enough information about your connection to fill in the blanks but would only suggest you do so if you have a reasonable understanding of XML.  I apologise if this is a duplication of other instructions on how to address this issue but I believe this put's a slightly different spin on the fix.

 

Happy SMS'ing.

 

Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-29-2010

UK / Belgium

634 Signins

1056 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-29-2010
  • Location: UK / Belgium
  • Views: 1056
  • Message 144 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-04-13, 21:51 PM

For the O2 sim card I added to the AC_wanprofiles.xml these lines and I can get the SMS messages

<profile>
    <mcnc>234010</mcnc>
    <carrierid>100</carrierid>
    <SMSSupport>true</SMSSupport>
    <editable>false</editable>
    <locked>false</locked>
    <country>United Kingdom</country>
    <nwprovider>O2 UK Mobile Web</nwprovider>
    <setting>
      <type>name</type>
      <value>O2 UK Mobile Web</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>apn</type>
      <value>internet</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>user_name</type>
      <value>o2web</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>password</type>
      <value>password</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>acprofilename</type>
      <value>Vodafone Mobile Broadband</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>linktoprovider</type>
      <value>http://www.o2.co.uk</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>authtype</type>
      <value>PAP</value>
    </setting>
  </profile>

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-29-2011

Germany

7 Signins

14 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-29-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 14
  • Message 145 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-05-29, 18:26 PM

Hi guys,

 

i have landed on this thread while searcing for a solution for the missing option of sending/receiving SMS via my Broadband Card.

 

Well, i found the solution - the Sony Software on page 5. Special thanks to Sony about that!

 

I live in Germany and here if you want to use the daily internet flat you have to send SMS. Not supporting this feature makes the mobile broadband card useless!

 

Last but not least, i would like to tell you Lenovo guys, that i really sorry about buying your product. I work in a University and will definetely propose to my boss NOT to buy Lenovo products.

 

I am really disappointed of the fact, that a whole year was not enough for you guys to enable the SMS function.

 

Never ever Lenovo. Nie wieder! Tschüss!

Reply
Options

14 Posts

08-24-2008

Jakarta, Indonesia

199 Signins

506 Page Views

  • Posts: 14
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2008
  • Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Views: 506
  • Message 146 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-06-07, 6:05 AM

Dear all,

 

it appears that Access Connection version 5.83 already have SMS menu enabled regardless the operators. I am using Indosat network and i can see my messages.

For temporary i failed to send any messages though, maybe because what i have is a SIM card especially use for data.

 

Anyone can confirm if the SMS menu on this new AC works to send and receive SMS?

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

2029 Posts

12-02-2007

Australia

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 2029
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 147 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-06-07, 12:17 PM

wrote:

 

it appears that Access Connection version 5.83 already have SMS menu enabled regardless the operators


The help file says SMS is only enabled for the Gobi 2000 based WWAN card.

 

I can confirm that there is no SMS available in AC 5.83 on an X200 with a Ericsson F3507g card installed.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Options

128 Posts

02-17-2009

Sydney, Australia

285 Signins

1775 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2009
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Views: 1775
  • Message 148 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-06-07, 21:54 PM

wrote:

Dear all,

 

it appears that Access Connection version 5.83 already have SMS menu enabled regardless the operators. I am using Indosat network and i can see my messages.



I would disagree. I also have AC 5.83 using Optus Australia (amaysim) and the Launch SMS is greyed out.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

06-03-2011

Essendon, Hertfordshire, UK

41 Signins

275 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎06-03-2011
  • Location: Essendon, Hertfordshire, UK
  • Views: 275
  • Message 149 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-06-10, 20:00 PM

Thanks, I got this to work on Three UK with the following

 

<mcnc>234020</mcnc>

<carrierid>104</carrierid>

 

As mentioned earlier in the thread, the key was to put a leading space on the 234-20 (to 234020) and the carrierID I copied from the Vodafone.co.uk one. Brilliant! At least now the PAYG SIM I have can text me to say when the internet allowance is getting low!

Reply
Options

2029 Posts

12-02-2007

Australia

9435 Signins

247288 Page Views

  • Posts: 2029
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 247288
  • Message 150 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2011-06-11, 14:08 PM

wrote:

 

I can confirm that there is no SMS available in AC 5.83 on an X200 with a Ericsson F3507g card installed.


I have just recieved a new X220 (:smileyhappy:) with a Gobi 3000 based Sierra card in it.

 

With Access Connection 5.83 the an SMS message capability is available, which further confirms that SMS capability in AC is now enabled but only for Gobi based cards.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms