Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

09-12-2011

Belgium

17 Signins

123 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2011
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 123
  • Message 161 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-02-21, 13:23 PM

I guess I'm lucky to be with Proximus (vodafone). :smileyhappy:

 

Wouldn't be my own choice though, I have Mobile Vikings for personal use.

Reply
Options

62 Posts

08-02-2011

australia

97 Signins

957 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2011
  • Location: australia
  • Views: 957
  • Message 162 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-02-25, 14:09 PM

wrote:

Does anyone know if you can make phone calls through your inserted SIM card?



whether you can make calls through your SIM card that was sold as a data / 3G SIM card depends on your mobile service provider. Many service providers disable the voice call function for SIMs that are sold as data SIMs. For these SIMs, you'll find that even if you put the SIM in your phone, you can't make a voice call.

Reply
Options

11 Posts

09-12-2011

Belgium

17 Signins

123 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎09-12-2011
  • Location: Belgium
  • Views: 123
  • Message 163 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-02-26, 15:30 PM

I have a SIM that can make calls. That's not the problem.

The Question is, is there any applications to make use of the built-in modem so we can make phone calls? Or SMS messages (other than ThinkVantage Access Connections)

Reply
Options

62 Posts

08-02-2011

australia

97 Signins

957 Page Views

  • Posts: 62
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2011
  • Location: australia
  • Views: 957
  • Message 164 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-02-27, 0:45 AM

I have not checked the specs, but i think you will find that the modem in your laptop does not have voice call functionality - it is only a modem for data.

I believe, but have not tried myself, that if you have an Ericsson data module, that Ericsson have their own application that you could use. I'm not sure if Qualcomm have any applications if you have a Gobi data module.

Also understand that Windows itself has an application for WWAN as well - again have not tried or even looked for it.

Reply
Options

3 Posts

06-24-2011

Germany

13 Signins

51 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎06-24-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 51
  • Message 165 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-03-13, 11:56 AM

Got it to work with German "netzclub" where I have 30 MB of free traffic. I guess this will work with "o2 Germany" with a few modifications, aswell (replace the APN "pinternet.interkom.de" with "surfo2" and add username and password as "surfo2", too).

 

Insert into AC_wanprofiles.xml:

<profile>
    <mcnc>26207</mcnc>
    <carrierid>01090</carrierid>
    <SMSSupport>true</SMSSupport>
    <editable>false</editable>
    <locked>false</locked>
    <country>Germany</country>
    <nwprovider>Netzclub</nwprovider>
    <setting>
      <type>name</type>
      <value>o2 - de</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>apn</type>
      <value>pinternet.interkom.de</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>user_name</type>
      <value></value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>password</type>
      <value></value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>acprofilename</type>
      <value>Netzclub</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>linktoprovider</type>
      <value>http://www.o2.de</value>
    </setting>
    <setting>
      <type>authtype</type>
      <value>PAP</value>
    </setting>
  </profile>

 

And insert into Sierra_profiles.xml:

<profile>
      <id />
      <editable>true</editable>
      <locked>false</locked>
      <mcnc>26207</mcnc>
      <setting>
        <type>name</type>
        <value>netzclub</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>apn</type>
        <value>pinternet.interkom.de</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>dns1</type>
        <value>62.134.11.4</value>
      </setting>
      <setting>
        <type>dns2</type>
        <value>195.182.110.132</value>
      </setting>
    </profile>

 

My configuration:

Thinkpad X220 Tablet with Ericsson F5521gw and AC 5.85.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-23-2009

Malayisa

4 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2009
  • Location: Malayisa
  • Views: 82
  • Message 166 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-03-21, 17:13 PM

Hi,

 

I just want to share my solution on the issue. I uninstall Lenovo AC and install Vodafone Mobile Broadband software from here;

 

http://www.business.vodafone.com/site/bus/public/enuk/support/10_productsupport/laptop_connectivity/40_software/software/10_latest/p_software.jsp

 

It automatically detect your SIM card and identify your provider. It works for me using Ericsson F3507g WWAN card. Be sure to install both Broadband Connection Manager and SMS Manager.

 

Good Luck

 

 

 

Reply
Options

47 Posts

11-06-2008

Denmark

2602 Signins

3351 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2008
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 3351
  • Message 167 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2012-10-01, 11:21 AM

+1 on using vodafone with my w500 and ericsson F3507g

Funneh seing old sms-messages back from 2009 popping up.

Needed it now to access my selfservice page on the www for the isp and they sent password with sms not mail.

The software seems to do a lot of stuff actually, sort of a vodafona access connections by the looks of it, maybe better than lenovos AC? :D (wich I haven't used since my older T40 actually cuss it was so bad back then already.)

Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-13-2010

Sk

14 Signins

48 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-13-2010
  • Location: Sk
  • Views: 48
  • Message 168 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2013-05-26, 11:41 AM

haha, now is more than 3yrs from this post, you say :"So I would kindly ask you for some patience, as the developers will need some time to get this implemented propperly." I have AC 6.01, and i cannot see any R/W ability for SMS. Shame

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-23-2010

Hungary

15 Signins

22 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-23-2010
  • Location: Hungary
  • Views: 22
  • Message 169 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2013-06-16, 17:47 PM

Lenovo!
I just can't beleive it! Why didn't You fixed this ULTRA BIG BUG within about 4 YEARS?!?!?!
I just can't find the words how this software team is.
Windows 7 has been lunched about 4 years ago.
Lenovo should have their softwares ready for a new OS at the time of OS lunch!

 

Moderator note; profanity edited - keep it clean please Forum Rules

Reply
Options

6 Posts

08-10-2013

Hungary

18 Signins

139 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-10-2013
  • Location: Hungary
  • Views: 139
  • Message 170 of 181

Re: Access Connection SMS Menu disappeared!!!!

2013-11-14, 6:17 AM

Hi!

I also had this issue (Launch SMS is grayed out), you have two possible solution:
1.

Test if you can start the app via the SMS_Application.exe in c:\Program Files (x86)\Lenovo\Access Connections\

If it's starting OK, than the grayed out issue is caused by a configuration missing / wrong in AC_wanprofiles.xml, but you can use the app.

 

2.

If you are not happy with step 1 (but the app is working) you should manually edit AC_wanprofiles.xml using the infos from your ISP. I have a Telenor Mobile Broadband service in Hungary and I managed to get "Launch SMS" working properly by adding the following profile config info to the AC xml

 

This profile is for Telenor Mobile Broadband Hungary ONLY!

 

<profile>
<mcnc>216001</mcnc>
<carrierid>01</carrierid>
<SMSSupport>true</SMSSupport>
<SoftAPSupport>true</SoftAPSupport>
<editable>false</editable>
<locked>false</locked>
<country>Hungary</country>
<nwprovider>Telenor HU</nwprovider>
<setting>
<type>name</type>
<value>Telenor HU</value>
</setting>
<setting>
<type>apn</type>
<value>net</value>
</setting>
<setting>
<type>acprofilename</type>
<value>Telenor Mobile Broadband</value>
</setting>
<setting>
<type>linktoprovider</type>
<value></value>
</setting>
<setting>
<type>authtype</type>
<value>PAP</value>
</setting>
</profile>

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms