English Community

Software and Operating SystemPre-Installed Lenovo Software and Applications
All Forum Topics
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 21 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 11:00 AM

wrote:

This time I download with UR into a new folder. But TI keeps giving the very same error message. Does someone know what I'm doing wrong?


Did you update the -repository parameter in the shortcut you are using to start TI, to point to the new UR folder?

 

Edit: Think I may have been leading you down the wrong path. The message says the error occurs when it is collecting information about your client -- what drivers it has that needs updating.

 

I see in the deployment guide that you can get a log file in the Program Files\Thininstaller folder if you edit the Thininstaller CONFIG file in the same folder and change the DebugEnable parameter from NO to YES. If you mess this up you can just delete the whole Thininstaller folder in Program Files and install TI again -- there is no need to run an uninstall via Windows.

Message Edited by zilla on 2009-05-09 01:35 PM

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Options

229 Posts

06-20-2008

United States

397 Signins

7343 Page Views

  • Posts: 229
  • Registered: ‎06-20-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 7343
  • Message 22 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 11:21 AM

wrote:

So since everything else in the system is now Danish, I also set The Update Retriever to Danish.


Using a Windows 7 RC English system, I was able to download a Danish update using Update Retriever and have Thin Installer recognize it by using the following directory structure

 

..\Thin Installer Directory

..\Thin Installer Directory\Update Retriever Repository Directory

 

and changing Region and Language > Format to Danish in the Control Panel.

 

Perhaps that setting or a similar one in XP is not set to Danish?

 

Don

Reply
Options

11 Posts

01-17-2009

Netherlands

17 Signins

142 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎01-17-2009
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 142
  • Message 23 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 12:32 PM

wrote:

Did you update the -repository parameter in the shortcut you are using to start TI, to point to the new UR folder?

 

Edit: Think I may have been leading you down the wrong path. The message says the error occurs when it is collecting information about your client -- what drivers it has that needs updating.

 

I see in the deployment guide that you can get a log file in the Program Files\Thininstaller folder if you edit the Thininstaller CONFIG file in the same folder and change the DebugEnable parameter from NO to YES. If you mess this up you can just delete the whole Thininstaller folder in Program Files and install TI again -- there is no need to run an uninstall via Windows.

Message Edited by zilla on 2009-05-09 01:35 PM  

I updated the target field after creating a new folder. TI created a log file, see link: 
http://www.2shared.com/file/5696956/1c37a4cf/Update_log_090509142804.html 
Could someone see what is wrong? 

Message Edited by loekverhees on 05-09-2009 05:41 AM
Reply
Options

8 Posts

05-08-2009

Denmark

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 82
  • Message 24 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 13:34 PM

to Don:

thanks for the reply. I have checked around, and everything is set to Danish(it should be, since it's a clean install from a Danish XP media). I also tried to make a new repository-folder in the thin installer-folder and then import the updates from my old repository folder, but it doesn't help, I still get the "no packages applicable to your system were found" message.

 

Message Edited by jepsko on 05-09-2009 06:35 AM
Reply
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 25 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 14:45 PM

wrote:

to Don:

thanks for the reply. I have checked around, and everything is set to Danish(it should be, since it's a clean install from a Danish XP media). I also tried to make a new repository-folder in the thin installer-folder and then import the updates from my old repository folder, but it doesn't help, I still get the "no packages applicable to your system were found" message.

 

Message Edited by jepsko on 05-09-2009 06:35 AM

 

Try setting the -repository parameter to a non-existing directory and check that you get the corrupt message -- then change it back to the right directory and also verify that it goes all the way to 90-93% complete.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

05-08-2009

Denmark

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 82
  • Message 26 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 15:08 PM
I tried to set it to a non-existing directory and got the corrupt message. When it scans the right directory it gets to 15-16% I think. It is very fast...like a few seconds from running it 'till the message appears.
Reply
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 27 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 15:11 PM

wrote:
I updated the target field after creating a new folder. TI created a log file, see link: 
http://www.2shared.com/file/5696956/1c37a4cf/Update_log_090509142804.html 
Could someone see what is wrong?

It looks like TI issues an ia.exe command with a timeout parameter set, probing for regional settings, and 3 seconds later it crashes with a System.NullReferenceException. I would check the Region and Language parameter in the Control Panel that ConnectDon mentions. I see others in the forum have had problems with ia.exe and System Update.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 28 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 15:17 PM

wrote:
I tried to set it to a non-existing directory and got the corrupt message. When it scans the right directory it gets to 15-16% I think. It is very fast...like a few seconds from running it 'till the message appears.

 

Ok that means it doesn't read your 2.5 GB database. It takes considerably longer for me to get the message (I have updated everything) with a long pause at 90-93%.

But executing TI without the -repository parameter I get exactly the behaviour you describe. It's reading the empty default file.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Options

229 Posts

06-20-2008

United States

397 Signins

7343 Page Views

  • Posts: 229
  • Registered: ‎06-20-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 7343
  • Message 29 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 16:49 PM

wrote:

...I still get the "no packages applicable to your system were found" message.


Perhaps we can coax a little more information out of that message.  In the Thin Installer directory there is a logs directory with the update logs.  Here are some excerpts from mine:

 

 

Message:
The active language is: EN
The default language is: EN
The OS language is: DA
The language loaded type is: Override

 

Message: Data to be set in the Environment Manager to use with Quest:
QOS (Quest OS): Windows Vista
QOSLang (Quest language): DA
MTM: 7661BF3

 

Message: 'Share name' to use: C:\Users\Don\Downloads\Thin Installer\

 

 

You can check your update logs and compare them with mine.  For the first two messages the OS language should be the same.  For the third message, the share name can be either the repository directory itself (the one with database.xml and database.xsd as well as all the package directories) or one directory above that (which is the case here - the repository directory on my system is C:\Users\Don\Downloads\Thin Installer\Repository).

 

Here is the database.xml for my entire Danish repository:

 

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<Database version="300">
  <Package id="7zio64ww" name="IMSM64" description="Intel Matrix Storage Manager driver for Windows V64">
    <FileName>7zio64ww_2_.xml</FileName>
    <Version>8.8.0.1009</Version>
    <ReleaseDate>13-03-2009</ReleaseDate>
    <Size>453067</Size>
    <URL>https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles/</URL>
    <Mode>
    </Mode>
    <Type>Quest</Type>
    <Status>Active</Status>
    <PreviousStatus>Test</PreviousStatus>
    <LocalPath>\7zio64ww\7zio64ww_2_.xml</LocalPath>
    <Severity>Recommended</Severity>
    <DisplayLicense>NotDisplay</DisplayLicense>
    <SystemCompatibility>
      <System mtm="7661" os="Windows Vista" oslang="DA" />
    </SystemCompatibility>
  </Package>
</Database>

 

 

You can compare the database.xml in your repository against this one and see if there are any differences that are not due to machine types and operating systems.

 

Let us know what you find.

 

Don

Reply
Options

8 Posts

05-08-2009

Denmark

10 Signins

82 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎05-08-2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Views: 82
  • Message 30 of 76

Re: Neither TVUR/Thin Installer or RSS works for updating T400

2009-05-09, 17:49 PM

allright,
after your previous post I searched for the database.xml file to see if I could find the default. I found it and changed the repository to that location. Then I imported the old repository into this folder and tried again. This time it went all the way (at least I saw 99%) but still with no applicable packages. I then checked the database.xml and found that the URL's are still set to the old repository.
 
//----->  <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
- <Database version="300">
- <Package id="tvtrnr42_1016dk" name="RNR42XDK" description="ThinkVantage Rescue and Recovery (Danish)">
  <FileName>tvtrnr42_1016dk_2_.xml</FileName>
  <Version>4.21.0016.00</Version>
  <ReleaseDate>15-05-2008</ReleaseDate>
  <Size>300000000</Size>
  <URL>c:\programmer\thininstaller\tvur\tvtrnr42_1016dk\</URL>
  <Mode />


etc...............
Where the directory I imported it into was ....Lenovo\Update Retriever\default
could try to change all these URL's manually, but shouldn't the import take care of this? And all the updates are actually also still located in that the directory that the URL points to.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete